Ronald Breslow Award for Achievement in Biomimetic Chemistry

Purpose: To recognize outstanding contributions to the field of biomimetic chemistry.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background for outstanding contributions to the field of biomimetic chemistry. Special consideration will be given to individuals who are scientifically active.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: The award was established on March 24, 2001 at a symposium held at Columbia University in honor of Ronald Breslow's 70th birthday by his friends, former students, and associates.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2017 Benjamin G. Davis

2016 Tom W. Muir

2015 Eric T. Kool

2014 Samuel H. Gellman

2013 Samuel I. Stupp

2012 Alanna Schepartz

2011 Kevan M. Shokat

2010 Stephen J. Lippard

2009 James P. Collman

2008 Joanna Aizenberg

2007 Francois Diederich

2006 Barbara Imperiali

2005 Peter B. Dervan

2004 Julius Rebek, Jr.

2003 Jacqueline K. Barton

2016 recipient Thomas W. Muir (center) is presented his award by Thomas M. Connelly, Jr., ACS Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer (right) and Donna J. Nelson, ACS President (left).