Ahmed Zewail Award in Ultrafast Science and Technology

Sponsor: Ahmed Zewail Endowment Fund established by the Newport Corporation

Purpose: To recognize outstanding and creative contributions to fundamental discoveries or inventions in ultrafast science & technology in areas of physics, chemistry, biology, or related fields.

Nature: The award will consist of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: The award will be for outstanding and creative contributions by a nominee to fundamental discoveries or inventions in ultrafast science and technology in the areas of physics, chemistry, biology, or related fields regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background. The recipient will have conducted original and insightful research that has had a significant impact on the field of ultrafast science and technology.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: The award was established in 2005 and is supported by the Ahmed Zewail Endowment Fund, established by the Newport Corporation.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2017 Stephen R. Leone

2016 Andrei Tokmakoff

2015 Shaul Mukamel

2014 Michael D. Fayer

2013 David M. Jonas

2012 Keith A. Nelson

2011 Charles B. Harris

2010 Paul Corkum

2009 Margaret M. Murnane and Henry Kapteyn

2008 Graham R. Fleming

2007 Robin M. Hochstrasser

2016 recipient Andrei Tokmakoff (center) is presented his award by Gary Spiegel (right), sponsor representative, and Donna J. Nelson, ACS President (left).