Past National Award Recipients

Priestley Medalist


Tobin J. Marks, is the Charles E. and Emma H. Morrison Professor of Chemistry, Professor of Materials Science & Engineering, and the Vladimir N. Ipatieff Professor of Catalytic Chemistry at Northwestern University. In 2017, Marks received the Priestley Medal, the American Chemical Society’s highest honor, for “pioneering research in catalytic polymerization, organometallic chemistry, organic opto-electronic materials, and electronically functional metal oxides.” View article in C&EN.


Mostafa A. El-Sayed, is a Regents’ Professor and Julius Brown Chair at Georgia Institute of Technology , has conducted highly acclaimed chemistry research and served as a chemistry educator and journal editor. El-Sayed was recognized “for his seminal research focused on using the new properties of nanomaterials, and for his service to the chemistry community as editor and educator. View article in C&EN.