Skip Navigation

ACS is committed to helping combat the global COVID-19 pandemic with initiatives and free resources. Learn More

Stanley C. Israel Regional Award for Advancing Diversity in the Chemical Sciences

ACS Committee on Minority Affairs

The Stanley C. Israel Regional Award recognizes individuals and/or institutions who have advanced diversity in the chemical sciences and significantly stimulated or fostered activities that promote inclusiveness within the region.

The award consists of a medal and a $1,000 grant to support and further the activities for which the award was made. The award also will include funding to cover the recipient’s travel expenses to the ACS regional meeting at which the award will be presented.

Nominees may come from academia, industry, government, or independent entities, and may also be organizations, including ACS Local Sections and Divisions. The nominee must have created and fostered ongoing programs or activities that result in increased numbers of persons from diverse and underrepresented minority groups, persons with disabilities, or women who participate in the chemical enterprise.


The deadline dates for receipt of nominations are as follows:


March 1
All ACS Regional Meetings held prior to June 30

August 1
All ACS Regional Meeetings held July 1 through December 31

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of nomination
  • A CV or resume containing relevant diversity promotion activities and factual data on outcomes
  • At least one, but no more than three supportive letters, one of which must come from the nominee’s ACS Local Section. Mailing address, phone number(s), and e-mail address of nominee/supporter must be provided

Contact Information

American Chemical Society
Department of Diversity Programs
1155 Sixteenth Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036
Fax: 202-776-8003

2016 Recipients

  • Judson Haynes
  • Thomas Lane
  • St. Johns University
  • Lawrence Duffy
  • Mindy Levine
  • E. Ann Nalley
  • Gina Macdonald

2017 Recipients

  • Corey Valente
  • CUNY
  • Jason Keleher
  • Jean Chmielewski
  • Sandra Bonetti
  • Xavier University
  • Zaida Morales-Martinez

2018 Recipients

  • Elain Yamaguchi
  • Paris Svornonos
  • Rigoberto Hernandez