American Chemical Society Award for Public Service


To recognize outstanding contributions to public service or to the development of public policy that benefits the chemical sciences. There are two primary purposes for offering the Award for Public Service:

  • to recognize recent accomplishments in public service benefitting the chemical sciences; and
  • to strengthen relationships between the chemical enterprise and public policy makers, thereby facilitating the Society’s national charter of incorporation to provide scientific and technical advice to the federal government.


The award consists of an appropriate keepsake such as a statue or plaque. The award shall be presented at the discretion of the ACS Board of Directors.

Establishment and Support

The American Chemical Society established the award in 1996 and continues to provide support. The Committee on Chemistry and Public Affairs shall act as the canvassing committee to recommend candidates. The selection shall be made by the Board of Directors, or its designee, currently the Board Committee on Public Affairs and Public Relations.

Rules of Eligibility

A nominee must have performed outstanding public service that benefits the chemical sciences. Neither the scientific stature of the recipient nor membership in the American Chemical Society is a consideration. Current members of the ACS Board of Directors are ineligible to receive this award.

Public Service Award Recipients

Year Recipient
  • Representative Lamar Smith (R-TX)
  • Senator Mark Udall (D-CO)
  • Dr. John P. Holdren, Director, White House Office of Science and Technology Policy
  • Mr. Alan Alda, Alan Alda Center for Communicating Science at Stony Brook University
  • Representative Roscoe Bartlett (R-MD)
  • Senator Chris Coons (D-DE)
  • Senator Ted Kaufman (D-DE, retired)
  • Dr. Jeremy Berg, Director, National Institute of General Medical Sciences
  • Dr. Norman Neureiter, Former Science Advisor to the U.S. Secretary of State
  • Representative Brian N. Baird (D-WA)
  • Representative John A. Culberson (R-TX)
  • Representative Mike Honda (D-CA)
  • Representative Phil Gingrey (R-GA)
  • Dr. Norman Augustine
  • Representative Bart Gordon (D-TN)
  • Senator Lamar Alexander (R-TN)
  • The Honorable.Samuel Bodman, U.S. Secretary of Energy
  • Representative RubÉn Hinojosa (D-TX)
  • Representative David Hobson (R-OH)
  • Dr. Ralph Cicerone, National Academy of Sciences
  • Representative Frank Wolf (R-VA)
  • Representative Ron Kind (D-WI)
  • Dr. Arden Bement, Jr., Director, National Science Foundation
  • Senator Pete Domenici (R-NM)
  • Senator Richard Durbin (D-IL)
  • Dr. Raymond Orbach, Director, DOE Office of Science
  • Senator John Warner (R-VA)
  • Representative Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX)
  • Representative Rush Holt (D-NJ)
  • Representative Judy Biggert (R-IL)
  • Representative Jerry Lewis (R-CA)
  • Representative David Price (D-NC)
  • Senator Jeff Bingaman (D-NM)
  • Senator Pat Roberts (R-KS)
  • Representative Sherwood Boehlert (R-NY)
  • Representative Vernon Ehlers (R-MI)
  • Dr. Neal F. Lane, Assistant to the President for Science and Technology
  • Senator Phil Gramm (R-TX)
  • Senator Bill Frist (R-TN)
  • Senator Joseph Lieberman (D-CT)
  • Representative John Porter (R-IL)
  • Representative George E. Brown (D-CA)
2013 recipients: (from l to r) Sen. Udall, Rep. Smith and Dr. Holdren
2013 recipients: (from l to r) Sen. Udall, Rep. Smith and Dr. Holdren