FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE | December 19, 2016

American Chemical Society announces 2017 officers

WASHINGTON, December 19, 2016 — The American Chemical Society (ACS), the world’s largest scientific society, has announced its officers for 2017.

Chair, ACS Board of Directors

Pat N. Confalone, Ph.D., independent consultant and retired vice president of DuPont, Wilmington, Delaware

ACS President

Allison A. Campbell, Ph.D., associate laboratory director, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, Washington

ACS President-Elect

Peter K. Dorhout, Ph.D., vice president for research, Kansas State University

Immediate Past President

Donna J. Nelson, Ph.D., organic chemistry professor, University of Oklahoma, Norman


Christina C. Bodurow, Ph.D., senior director of external sourcing in the medicines development unit at Eli Lilly & Co., Indianapolis

Lee H. Latimer, Ph.D., head of chemistry at NeurOp Inc., Oakland, California

Rigoberto Hernandez, Ph.D.,  Gompf Family Professor at the Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland

Barbara A. Sawrey, Ph.D., dean for undergraduate education and a distinguished teaching professor of chemistry, University of California, San Diego

Ingrid Montes, Ph.D.,  assistant dean, Graduate Studies and Research Program, University of Puerto Rico, Río Piedras Campus, San Juan

Paul W. Jagodzinski, Ph.D., dean, college of engineering, forestry and natural sciences, Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff

William F. Carroll, Jr., Ph.D.,  adjunct professor of chemistry, Indiana University, and principal of Carroll Applied Science, LLC, Dallas, Texas

Laura E. Pence, Ph.D., professor of chemistry, University of Hartford, West Hartford, Connecticut

John E. Adams, Ph.D., curators’ teaching professor emeritus, University of Missouri, Columbia, Missouri

Dorothy J. Phillips, Ph.D., retired chemist from Waters Corporation, Natick, Massachusetts

Kathleen M. Schulz, Ph.D., president, Business Results Inc., Albuquerque, New Mexico

Thomas M. Connelly, Jr., Ph.D., executive director and CEO, American Chemical Society, Washington, DC

Other top officers include:


Flint H. Lewis, secretary, ACS board of directors and council; and ACS general counsel, Arlington, Virginia


Brian A. Bernstein, ACS treasurer and chief financial officer, Alexandria, Virginia

The American Chemical Society is a nonprofit organization chartered by the U.S. Congress. With nearly 157,000 members, ACS is the world’s largest scientific society and a global leader in providing access to chemistry-related research through its multiple databases, peer-reviewed journals and scientific conferences. Its main offices are in Washington, D.C., and Columbus, Ohio.

To automatically receive press releases from the American Chemical Society, contact


Follow us:      

Media Contact

ACS Newsroom

Pat N. Confalone, Ph.D.
High-resolution Image
Allison A. Campbell, Ph.D.
Credit: PNNL
High-resolution Image
Peter Dorhout
Credit: Kansas State University
High-resolution Image
Donna J. Nelson, Ph.D.
Credit: Donna Nelson
High-resolution Image