American Chemical Society names 12 women in academia as Fellows for 2018

WASHINGTON, July 23, 2018 — The American Chemical Society (ACS) has named the 2018 class of ACS Fellows, a prestigious honor bestowed upon distinguished chemists who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in chemistry and have made important contributions to ACS.

Twenty-one women were named ACS Fellows in the 2018 class. Of those, 12 are in academia:

  • Amanda Bryant-Friedrich, University of Toledo
  • Janine Cossy, ESPCI Paris
  • Carmen Valdez Gauthier, Florida Southern College
  • Lynn G. Hartshorn,  University of St. Thomas
  • Teresa Head-Gordon, University of California, Berkeley
  • Barbara R. Hillery, SUNY Old Westbury
  • Elizabeth M. Howson, Chatham High School
  • Malika Jeffries-EL, Boston University
  • Kerry K. Karukstis, Harvey Mudd College
  • Judy E. Kim, University of California, San Diego
  • Melissa Pasquinelli, North Carolina State University
  • Doris Zimmerman, Thiel College (retired)

The American Chemical Society, the world’s largest scientific society, is a not-for-profit organization chartered by the U.S. Congress. ACS is a global leader in providing access to chemistry-related information and research through its multiple databases, peer-reviewed journals and scientific conferences. ACS does not conduct research, but publishes and publicizes peer-reviewed scientific studies. Its main offices are in Washington, D.C., and Columbus, Ohio.

To automatically receive press releases from the American Chemical Society, contact


Follow us:      

Media Contact

ACS Newsroom