FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE | November 08, 2018

American Chemical Society announces election results for 2019 officers

WASHINGTON, Nov. 8, 2018 — The American Chemical Society (ACS), the world’s largest scientific society, has announced the results of its elections. Society members elected the following officers for 2019:


Luis A. Echegoyen, Ph.D., Robert A. Welch professor of chemistry at the University of Texas, El Paso


John E. Adams, Ph.D., curators’ distinguished teaching professor emeritus of chemistry at the University of Missouri-Columbia

Lee H. Latimer, Ph.D., consultant in drug development at LHLatimer Consulting, Oakland, California

Ingrid Montes, Ph.D., assistant dean of graduate studies and research at the University of Puerto Rico, Río Piedras Campus

Katherine L. Lee, Ph.D., associate research fellow at Pfizer, West Newton, Massachusetts

These officers will join the following, who were previously elected by ACS members to serve terms in 2018:

ACS President

Bonnie A. Charpentier, Ph.D., senior vice president of regulatory affairs and compliance at Cytokinetics, South San Francisco, California

ACS Immediate Past President

Peter K. Dorhout, Ph.D., vice president for research and professor of chemistry at Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kansas


Paul W. Jagodzinski, Ph.D., dean, college of engineering, forestry & natural sciences, and professor in the department of chemistry and biochemistry, Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff

Wayne E. Jones Jr., Ph.D., dean of engineering and physical sciences and professor of chemistry at the University of New Hampshire, Durham

Barbara A. Sawrey, Ph.D., distinguished teaching professor in the department of chemistry and biochemistry at the University of California, San Diego

Christina C. Bodurow, Ph.D., senior director of external sourcing in the medicines development unit at Eli Lilly & Co. in Indianapolis

Rigoberto Hernandez, Ph.D., Gompf family professor in the department of chemistry at the Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore

Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D., global technology integration leader at DuPont Performance Materials, Wilmington, Delaware

Dorothy J. Phillips, Ph.D., retired chemist, Waters Corporation, Natick, Massachusetts

Kathleen M. Schulz, Ph.D., president, Business Results Inc., Albuquerque, New Mexico

Other top officers include:

Thomas M. Connelly Jr., Ph.D., ACS executive director and CEO, Washington, D.C.

Flint H. Lewis, ACS secretary and general counsel, Arlington, Virginia

Brian A. Bernstein, ACS treasurer and chief financial officer, Alexandria, Virginia

The American Chemical Society, the world’s largest scientific society, is a not-for-profit organization chartered by the U.S. Congress. ACS is a global leader in providing access to chemistry-related information and research through its multiple databases, peer-reviewed journals and scientific conferences. ACS does not conduct research, but publishes and publicizes peer-reviewed scientific studies. Its main offices are in Washington, D.C., and Columbus, Ohio.

To automatically receive press releases from the American Chemical Society, contact


Follow us:      

Media Contact

ACS Newsroom