FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE | July 30, 2020

Join the Virtual Kids Zone science event Aug. 15 for chemistry fun

WASHINGTON, July 30, 2020 — Explore the wonders of chemistry with the American Chemical Society’s (ACS’) online Kids Zone science event Saturday, Aug. 15, 3-5 p.m. EDT (noon-2 p.m. PDT)  featuring Miss Camille Schrier —  Miss America 2020 — and other distinguished guests.

Host Bibiana Campos Seijo, editor-in-chief of Chemical & Engineering News, will lead viewers through four different virtual activities conducted by popular STEM advocates. This #ACSKidsZone event for ages 10+ will be offered in two languages, with English-language presentations taking place 3-4 p.m. EDT (noon-1 p.m. PDT) and Spanish-language presentations taking place 4-5 p.m. EDT (1-2 p.m. PDT). Registration and more information can be found at www.acs.org/kidszone or on the Facebook event page.

This outreach event is part of the ACS Fall 2020 Virtual Meeting & Expo that will be held virtually Aug. 17-20. The meeting’s theme of “Moving Chemistry From Bench to Market” delves into the vital role of chemistry in innovating products that better our lives.

The American Chemical Society (ACS) is a nonprofit organization chartered by the U.S. Congress. ACS’ mission is to advance the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Earth and its people. The Society is a global leader in providing access to chemistry-related information and research through its multiple research solutions, peer-reviewed journals, scientific conferences, eBooks and weekly news periodical Chemical & Engineering News. ACS journals are among the most cited, most trusted and most read within the scientific literature; however, ACS itself does not conduct chemical research. As a specialist in scientific information solutions (including SciFinder® and STN®), its CAS division powers global research, discovery and innovation. ACS’ main offices are in Washington, D.C., and Columbus, Ohio.

To automatically receive press releases from the American Chemical Society, contact newsroom@acs.org.

###

Follow us:  

Media Contact

ACS Newsroom
newsroom@acs.org

Miss Camille Schrier performing the elephant toothpaste demonstration during the Miss America 2.0 competition in December 2019.
Miss Camille Schrier performing the elephant toothpaste demonstration during the Miss America 2.0 competition in December 2019.
Credit: The Miss America Organization
View Larger Image