Meet the Scientists

Chris Hollinsed, Ph.D

Chris Hollinsed, Ph.D., is the Director of the American Chemical Society’s (ACS) Office of Research Grants. In this position, Hollinsed leads the Petroleum Research Fund, a $500 million fund focused on advanced scientific research and fundamental research in the petroleum field. Originally established as a Trust by seven major oil companies in 1944, the assets of the Petroleum Research Fund were transferred to the ACS in 2001. The ACS Petroleum Research Fund supports innovative fundamental research, advanced scientific education and the careers of scientists, to aid in significantly increasing the world’s energy options.

Yong Ba, Ph.D.

Yong Ba, Ph.D., is an Associate Professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry in the College of Natural and Social Sciences at California State University in Los Angeles. His research focuses on the development and application of magnetic resonance techniques to study the important physicochemical properties of biological and porous materials. Current projects include the mechanism of antifreeze proteins, drug delivery using nanoparticle and hydrogel systems, molecular interaction with column materials and the dynamics of gas hydrates.

Harry B. Gray, Ph.D.

Harry B. Gray, Ph.D., is the Arnold O. Beckman Professor of Chemistry and Founding Director of the Beckman Institute at the California Institute of Technology in Pasadena. As a pioneer of the important and thriving field of bioinorganic chemistry, he has made many key contributions, including the development of fundamental understanding of electron transfer in biological systems. He is a recipient of many honors including American Institute of Chemists Gold Medal, the Pauling Medal, the Waterford Prize, the Priestley Medal, the Bader Award and the Linderstrom-Lang Prize. In 1986, he received the National Medal of Science from President Ronald Reagan.

Daniel Nocera, Ph.D.

Daniel Nocera, Ph.D., is the Henry Dreyfus Professor of Energy, Professor of Chemistry, and the Director of the Solar Revolution Project at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He is interested in the basic mechanisms of energy conversion in biology and chemistry. Four current research areas in his research group include chemical energy conversion, biological energy conversion, chemosensing on the nanoscale and magnetic layered materials. In 2008, Dr. Nocera and Matthew Kanan, a postdoctoral fellow in Dr. Nocera’s lab, developed a catalyst that can easily split water into hydrogen and oxygen gases – a process known as electrolysis. These gases could then be recombined – serving as fuel for transportation or a power source for electricity generation.

James B. Roberto, Ph.D.,

James B. Roberto, Ph.D., is the Deputy Director for Science and Technology at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Oak Ridge National Laboratory in Tennessee. In this position, Dr. Roberto oversees research and development programs with annual expenditures of $1 billion in materials and physical sciences, energy and engineering sciences, computational sciences, life and environmental sciences, neutron sciences, and national security. His research interests have included X-ray and neutron scattering, ion-surface interactions, materials for fusion reactors, and nanoscale science and technology. Dr. Roberto is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, former president of the Materials Research Society, and recipient of the 2004 National Materials Advancement Award from the Federation of Materials Research Societies.