ACS Meetings & Expo

53rd Southeast Undergraduate Research Conference (SURC)

Learn More


In-person event
Feb 16 - 17, 2024


Chemistry Education
Earth, Space, and Environmental Chemistry
Chemical Engineering & Industrial Chemistry

Brought to you by:

The 53rd Southeast Undergraduate Research Conference (SURC) will be held in Clinton, MS on the campus of Mississippi College from February 16-17, 2024. This conference is specifically for undergraduate chemistry majors across the southeast and will include oral sessions, poster sessions, a keynote speaker, and a graduate school & career fair. Three meals and a t-shirt are included with registration.

We are excited to share that the keynote speaker will be Dr. Angela Wilson, the John A. Hannah Distinguished Professor of Chemistry at Michigan State University. Dr. Wilson served as the national ACS President in 2022 and currently serves as the ACS Immediate Past-President. Additionally, she served as the Director (head) of the Division of Chemistry at the U.S. National Science Foundation (NSF) from 2016-2018.

Abstract submission and registration are currently open and can be found on the website If you have any questions, please contact

Event Details

  • Address : Anderson Hall - BC Rogers Student Center, 200 Nelson Dr. Clinton, MS, United States 39056
  • February 16th-17th, 2024
  • 4:00 pm CT

Keynote Speaker

Dr. Angela K. Wilson, Angela K. Wilson is the John A. Hannah Distinguished Professor of Chemistry at Michigan State University, Associate Dean for Strategic Initiatives in the MSU College of Natural Sciences and Director of the MSU Center for Quantum Computing, Science, and Engineering. She served as 2022 President of the American Chemical Society (ACS), the largest scientific society in the world, with over >173,000 members. She has served as the head of the Division of Chemistry at the U.S. National Science Foundation where she was responsible for nearly $1B investments in chemistry nationwide, and led the strategic direction and national priorities in chemistry for NSF.

Angela earned a Ph.D. in chemical physics from the University of Minnesota and a B.S. in chemistry from Eastern Washington University. She was a postdoctoral fellow at the Environmental Molecular Sciences Laboratory (EMSL) at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory in theoretical physical chemistry.

Her honors include Fellow of the American Chemical Society, Fellow of the American Physical Society, Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Francis P. Garvan-John M. Olin Medal and the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry Distinguished Woman in Chemistry Award. In 2018, she was inducted into the Michigan Women’s Hall of Fame. She is a National Associate of the U.S. National Academies of Science, Engineering, and Medicine (NASEM).

Her research spans quantum mechanical and quantum dynamical method development, transition metal and heavy element chemistry, drug discovery, environmental chemistry, catalysis, thermodynamics, and sustainability. Her computational chemistry methodologies are utilized worldwide. She has published ~200 papers and has mentored ~200 students in her research group.

ACS Institute

Keep learning. Excel in your career.

Choose from more than 200 courses in seven different categories, taught by experts in the chemistry community, online and in person.