Shape the Future of ACS! We want your feedback about the ACS brand and how we can serve you better into the future. Take the Survey!

South Africa Chapter

The South Africa International Chemical Sciences Chapter was officially established on December 4th 2014. ACS Council voted, at the ACS National Meeting in San Francisco on August 20th 2014, to approve the application of the South Africa International Chemical Sciences Chapter application. The application was ratified by the ACS Board of Directors on December 4th 2014 to operate under the provision of the ACS Bylaw IX (Constitution XIV).


Contact the Chapter

Chapter Officers

Chair: Charles B de Koning

Affiliation: University of the Witwatersrand

Address: School of Chemistry, University of the Witwatrsrand, PO Wits 2050, Johannesburg, South Africa

Telephone: +27 11 7176724



Treasurer: Kevin J Naidoo

Affiliation: University of Cape Town

Address: Department of Chemistry, University of Cape Town, Rondebosch 7701, South Africa

Telephone: + 27 21 6502542



Secretary: Willem A L van Otterlo

Affiliation: University of Stellenbsoch

Address: Department of Chemistry and Polymer Science, University of Stellenbosch, Private Bag X1, 7602 MATIELAND, South Africa

Telephone: + 27 21 808 3344