Georgia, Indiana, New Jersey, and New York students named to U.S. Chemistry Olympiad

WASHINGTON, June 25, 2009 — Four students from high schools in Georgia, Indiana, New Jersey, and New York will represent the United States in the 41st annual International Chemistry Olympiad, the American Chemical Society announced today. The international competition will be held July 18-27 in Cambridge, England.

The American Chemical Society, the world’s largest scientific society, sponsors the U.S. team along with support from other partners. The four members of the travel team and two alternates were chosen after a two-week study and training camp for 20 of the nation’s top chemistry students at the U.S. Air Force Academy. They were selected from more than 11,000 high school students across the country who initially competed for a spot on the U.S. team.

The four team members are:

Brian Seifried, Dunwoody, Ga., Chamblee High School

Nathan Benjamin, West Lafayette, Ind., W.H. Harrison High School

Yixiao Wang, Westfield, N.J., Westfield High School

Colin Lu, Vestal, N.Y., Vestal High School

Media Inquiries:

Charmayne Marsh


Two alternates were also named, in case a member of the team is unable to participate. They are:

Alexander Siegenfeld, Westport, Conn., Hopkins School (first alternate)

John Rosenberg, Barrington, Ill., Barrington High School (second alternate)

The U.S. team will go up against teams from more than 65 countries. In past Olympiads, the U.S. team has been a strong competitor at the international event, winning one silver and three bronze medals in 2008. In 1999 and 2000, the U.S. team won the event’s top gold medal.

Principal funding for the Olympiad is provided through the Society's Donald F. and Mildred Topp Othmer Chemistry Olympiad Endowment with support from the Air Force Academy. Additional support is provided by Advanced Chemistry Development; BrandTechScientific, Inc.; Carolina Biological Supply Company; Fisher Scientific; Flinn Scientific, Inc.; HoltMcDougal/Cengage Learning; John Wiley & Sons, Inc.; McGraw-Hill Companies; Merck Publishing Group; Pearson Prentice Hall; Texas Instruments, Inc.; and Sigma Aldrich Co.


---Charmayne Marsh