FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE | January 26, 2010

American Chemical Society announces 2010 officers

Chair, ACS Board of Directors
Bonnie A. Charpentier, Ph.D.,
vice president, regulatory affairs, Metabolex, Inc., Hayward, Calif. An ACS Board member since 2005, she is serving her second three-year term as District VI director, representing more than 17,000 chemical professionals living and working in the western United States and Canada.

ACS President
Joseph S. Francisco, Ph.D.,
William E. Moore Distinguished Professor at Purdue University is 2010 president and will serve on the Board of Directors through 2011.

ACS President-Elect
Nancy B. Jackson, Ph.D.,
a chemical engineer and manager of the International Chemical Threat Reduction Department at Sandia National Laboratories in Albuquerque, N.M., is ACS president-elect. She began serving in this position earlier this month and will become ACS president on Jan. 1, 2011.

Immediate Past President
Thomas H. Lane, Ph.D.,
a retired chemist and former director of global science and technology outreach, Dow Corning Corp., Midland, Mich. Lane was ACS president in 2009 and will remain an ex officio member of the Board of Directors through 2010.

Media Contact:

Doug Dollemore


Eric C. Bigham, Ph.D.,
a retired chemist and former manager for discovery research and development at GlaxoSmithKline, Chapel Hill, N.C.

William F. Carroll, Jr., Ph.D., vice president at Occidental Chemical Corp. in Dallas, Texas.

Dennis Chamot, Ph.D., an associate executive director of the National Research Council’s Division on Engineering and Physical Sciences, Washington, D.C.

Pat N. Confalone, Ph.D., vice president, Global Research & Development, Crop Protection, Agriculture and Nutrition Platform, with DuPont in Wilmington, Del.

Peter K. Dorhout, Ph.D., vice provost for graduate affairs and assistant vice president for research at Colorado State University in Fort Collins.

Janan M. Hayes, Ph.D., retired chemist, faculty member and administrator at Merced College, Merced, Calif. She is also a former chemical educator and administrator at Cosumnes River College and American River College in Sacramento.

Neil D. Jespersen, Ph.D., professor of chemistry at St. John’s University in New York, residing in Port Washington.

Valerie J. Kuck, a chemist and former staff member at Lucent Technologies – AT&T Bell Labs. She is also an adjunct professor of chemistry at the College of St. Elizabeth in Morristown, N.J.

Diane Grob Schmidt, Ph.D., a chemist and section head at Procter & Gamble Co., Cincinnati, Ohio.

Kent. J. Voorhees, Ph.D., a professor of chemistry at the Colorado School of Mines in Golden.

Marinda Li Wu, Ph.D., a chemist and founder and president of the Science is Fun! Company in Orinda, Calif.

Other top officers include:

Executive Director
Madeleine Jacobs
, of Gaithersburg, Md., is the ACS executive director and CEO and an ex officio member of the Board of Directors. She is the former editor-in-chief of the Society’s weekly newsmagazine, Chemical & Engineering News.

Flint Lewis
, of Centreville, Va., is the secretary of the Society, its Board of Directors and Council and serves as the Society’s General Counsel.

Brian A. Bernstein
, of Alexandria, Va., is the treasurer and chief financial officer of the American Chemical Society.