American Chemical Society names ACS Fellows for 2019

WASHINGTON, July 26, 2019 — The American Chemical Society (ACS) has named 70 members to the 2019 class of ACS Fellows. The program was created by the ACS Board of Directors in December 2008 to recognize members of ACS for outstanding achievements in and contributions to science, the profession and the Society.

The 2019 ACS Fellows will be recognized at a ceremony and reception on Monday, Aug. 26, at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront, Sapphire Ballroom during the Society’s National Meeting & Exposition in San Diego.

The official list of names appears in the July 15 issue of Chemical & Engineering News.

Here are the 2019 Fellows, listed alphabetically by institution:

Holly L. Davis, Abbott

Carol J. Henry, advisor and consultant

Frank Romano, Agilent Technologies Inc.

Hilmar Koerner, Air Force Research Laboratory

Margaret M. Faul, Amgen Inc.

Sheila M. Murphy, Ashland Specialty Ingredients (retired)

Joseph Vincent Ortiz, Auburn University

George H. Fisher, Barry University

MaryAnne Armstrong, Birch, Stewart, Kolasch & Birch LLP

Brian M. Stoltz, California Institute of Technology

Richard L. Deming, California State University, Fullerton

Steven H. Strauss, Colorado State University

Beth A. Lorsbach, Corteva Agriscience

Regina M. Malczewski, Dow Corning Corporation (Merged with Dow) (retired)

Amiee L. Modic, Duchesne Academy of the Sacred Heart

Milagros Delgado, Florida International University

Jacqueline A. Erickson, GlaxoSmithKline Consumer Healthcare

Joel Coats, Iowa State University

Ann E. Weber, Kallyope Inc.

David A. Vicic, Lehigh University

Scott A. Reid, Marquette University

Gary D. Anderson, Marshall University

Bradley D. Olsen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

David James Roush, Merck & Co. Inc., Kenilworth, NJ

Edward C. Sherer, Merck & Co. Inc., Rahway, NJ

Jesse David Bernstein, Miami Country Day School and the Hawken School

Hari Pujar, Moderna

Donald A. Jaworske, NASA Glenn Research Center

Kevin D. Belfield, New Jersey Institute of Technology

Sir Fraser Stoddart, Northwestern University

Glenn A. Fugate, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Michael C. Qian, Oregon State University

Craig B. Fryhle, Pacific Lutheran University

Eric W. Hoppe, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Michael G. Koehler, Professional Analysis and Consulting Inc.

Silvia Ronco, Research Corporation for Science Advancement

Gregory A. Caputo, Rowan University

Frieder Jaekle, Rutgers University - Newark

Maria C. Nagan, Stony Brook University

Madeleine Jacobs, Strategic Science

Melissa A. Grunlan, Texas A&M University

Hassan Said Bazzi, Texas A&M University at Qatar

Dominick J. Casadonte, Jr., Texas Tech University

Brian B. Brady, The Aerospace Corporation

Mark P. Heitz, The College at Brockport, State University of New York

Jerzy Klosin, The Dow Chemical Company

Carl A. Picconatto, The MITRE Corporation

K. Barry Sharpless, Scripps Research

Coleen Pugh, The University of Akron and Wichita State University

Ping Y. Furlan, United States Merchant Marine Academy

Kevin A. Cavicchi, University of Akron

Richmond Sarpong, University of California, Berkeley

William H. Casey, University of California, Davis

Miguel A. Garcia-Garibay, University of California, Los Angeles

Jane V. Aldrich, University of Florida

Lai-Xi Wang, University of Maryland, College Park

André Louis Boehman, University of Michigan

Philippe Buhlmann, University of Minnesota Twin Cities

Marc A. Hillmyer, University of Minnesota Twin Cities

James J. O’Brien, University of Missouri

Sherine O. Obare, University of North Carolina at Greensboro and the North Carolina Agricultural and     Technical State University

Graham F. Peaslee, University of Notre Dame

Jonathan L. Sessler, University of Texas at Austin and Shanghai University

Joel M. Harris, University of Utah

Rory Waterman, University of Vermont

Steven J. Lehotay, USDA Agricultural Research Service

Lisa M. Berreau, Utah State University

Joseph S. Merola, Virginia Tech

Young-Shin Jun, Washington University in St. Louis

Matthew J. Allen, Wayne State University

The American Chemical Society, the world’s largest scientific society, is a not-for-profit organization chartered by the U.S. Congress. ACS is a global leader in providing access to chemistry-related information and research through its multiple databases, peer-reviewed journals and scientific conferences. ACS does not conduct research, but publishes and publicizes peer-reviewed scientific studies. Its main offices are in Washington, D.C., and Columbus, Ohio.

To automatically receive press releases from the American Chemical Society, contact


Follow us:      

Media Contact

ACS Newsroom