FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE | October 30, 2020

American Chemical Society announces election results for 2021 officers and directors

WASHINGTON, Oct. 30, 2020 — The American Chemical Society (ACS) has announced the results of its national election. Society members elected the following officers and members of the Board of Directors for 2021:

Angela K. Wilson, Ph.D., associate dean for strategic initiatives in the College of Natural Sciences; director of the Center for Quantum Computing, Science and Engineering; and John A. Hannah distinguished professor of chemistry at Michigan State University, East Lansing

Board of Directors
Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D. (District III), global R&D operations leader at DuPont Transportation & Industrial, Wilmington, Delaware

Paul W. Jagodzinski, Ph.D. (District VI), professor of chemistry at Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff

Wayne E. Jones Jr., Ph.D. (director-at-large), provost and vice president for academic affairs at the University of New Hampshire, Durham

Carolyn Ribes, Ph.D. (director-at-large), business analytical leader at Dow Chemical, Terneuzen, The Netherlands

These officers will join the following, who were previously elected by ACS members to serve terms in 2021:


H. N. Cheng, Ph.D., research chemist with the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service, New Orleans

Immediate Past President

Luis Echegoyen, Ph.D., Robert A. Welch chair professor of chemistry at the University of Texas at El Paso

Board of Directors
John E. Adams, Ph.D. (District V), Curators’ Teaching Professor (emeritus) of chemistry at the University of Missouri-Columbia

Bryan Balazs, Ph.D. (director-at-large), Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (retired), Livermore, California

Christina C. Bodurow, Ph.D. (District II), vice president of strategy and operations in the Data Science, Statistics and Regulatory Division at IQVIA, Indianapolis

Thomas Connelly Jr., Ph.D., ACS CEO, Washington, D.C.

Lisa Houston (District IV), vice president at Petroleum Analyzer Co., Houston

Lee H. Latimer, Ph.D. (director-at-large), consultant in drug development at LHLatimer Consulting, Oakland, California

Katherine L. Lee, Ph.D. (District I), senior director and head of project planning and operations, Inflammation and Immunology Research Unit at Pfizer Inc., Cambridge, Massachusetts

Ingrid Montes, Ph.D. (director-at-large), assistant dean of graduate studies and research at the University of Puerto Rico, Río Piedras

Dorothy J. Phillips, Ph.D. (director-at-large), Waters Corp. (retired), Milford, Massachusetts

Other Society officers include:

Flint Lewis, ACS secretary and general counsel, Washington, D.C.

Al Horvath, ACS treasurer and chief financial officer, Washington, D.C.

The American Chemical Society (ACS) is a nonprofit organization chartered by the U.S. Congress. ACS’ mission is to advance the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Earth and its people. The Society is a global leader in providing access to chemistry-related information and research through its multiple research solutions, peer-reviewed journals, scientific conferences, eBooks and weekly news periodical Chemical & Engineering News. ACS journals are among the most cited, most trusted and most read within the scientific literature; however, ACS itself does not conduct chemical research. As a specialist in scientific information solutions (including SciFinder® and STN®), its CAS division powers global research, discovery and innovation. ACS’ main offices are in Washington, D.C., and Columbus, Ohio.

To automatically receive press releases from the American Chemical Society, contact


Follow us:      

Media Contact

ACS Newsroom