ACS Publications Webinar

2024 Measurement Science Lectureship Awards

Watch On Demand


On-demand virtual event


Analytical Chemistry

Brought to you by:

The Measurement Science Lectureship Awards webinar features winners of the 2024 Advances in Measurement Science Awards and the 2024 Early Career Investigator Award in Analytical Chemistry. These awards honor the contributions of individuals who have made a major recent impact in the field of measurement science.

This virtual event honors all four award winners— Profs. Boris Mizaikoff, Peter Nemes, Juyoung Yoon, and Jeffrey Dick— as they present their latest research and answer questions submitted during the live broadcast.


Prof. Boris Mizaikoff- Dr. Boris Mizaikoff is a Chaired Professor and Director of the Institute of Analytical and Bioanalytical Chemistry @ Ulm University (Germany) with prior appointments at the Vienna University of Technology (Austria) and at the Georgia Institute of Technology (USA). Since 2021, he is also an Executive Board Member at Hahn-Schickard in Ulm (Germany). His research interests focus on optical sensors, biosensors, and biomimetic sensors, mid-infrared photonics, system miniaturization and integration and biomolecular/biomimetic molecular recognition architectures with applications in environmental monitoring, process analysis, and biomedical/clinical diagnostics. He is author/co-author of 450+ peer-reviewed publications and 20+ patents.

Prof. Juyoung Yoon- Juyoung Yoon received his Ph.D. in 1994 at Ohio State University and conducted his postdoctoral work at UCLA and Scripps Research Institute. Currently, he is a Distinguished Professor at the Department of Chemistry and Nanoscience, Ewha Womans University. His research interests include the investigation of fluorescent imaging probes, phototherapy and theranostics. He published 475 SCI papers with an h-index of 130. He has been listed as a highly cited researcher in chemistry since 2014.

Prof. Peter Nemes- Peter Nemes is a Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of Maryland, College Park (UMD). He obtained a M.Sc. in Chemistry (summa cum laude) from the Eotvos Lorand University (Budapest, Hungary). He obtained his PhD in Chemistry with Dr. Akos Vertes at the George Washington University (Washington, DC), where he invented LAESI mass spectrometry. Dr. Nemes completed postdoctoral training in analytical neuroscience with Dr. Jonathan V. Sweedler at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, IL, where he developed high-sensitivity instruments for small and large biomolecules in single neurons. In 2011, he joined the US Food and Drug Administration as a Laboratory Leader and Staff Fellow. In 2013, Dr. Nemes returned to the George Washington University as an Assistant Professor of Chemistry. Prof. Dr. Nemes moved to UMD in 2018 January.

Research in the Nemes Laboratory develops ultrasensitive microanalytical mass spectrometry platforms to study metabolic and proteomic processes in limited cell populations, cells, and organelles with implications in cell and neurodevelopmental biology. The group has uncovered metabolic and proteomic differences between single embryonic cells and discovered small molecules capable of altering normal cell fate specification using the chordate model Xenopus laevis. Dr. Nemes’ team has also discovered cell-by-cell metabolic communication between X. laevis cells that coordinate long-range patterning of the embryonic body plan, as well as documented proteomic neuronal heterogeneity in the mammalian central nervous system. The Nemes lab has integrated electrophysiology and capillary microsampling to develop “patch proteomics.” Results from the lab challenge basic understanding of molecular processes that are necessary for normal embryonic and brain development and raise important implications for human health.

Prof. Jeffrey Dick- Jeffrey E. Dick earned a BS in Chemistry from Ball State University, where he graduated summa cum laude in 2013. He then spent the next 4 years of graduate study under the guidance of Prof. Allen J. Bard at the University of Texas at Austin, where he learned the beauty of electrochemistry and creative inquiry. After doing a short stint as a NIH CORE Postdoctoral Scholar in the laboratory of Prof. Kyle Miller at the University of Texas at Austin, Jeffrey began his independent career at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in July 2018. In 2022, Jeffrey and 11 of his group members relocated to Purdue University. At Purdue, Jeffrey is the Richard B. Wetherill Associate Professor of Chemistry and has a courtesy appointment in the Elmore Family School of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Jeffrey has authored more than 110 peer-reviewed papers, including over 80 as corresponding author. In his independent career, Jeffrey has earned several awards, including Forbes' 30 under 30 in the science category, NSF CAREER, NIH MIRA, Sloan Research Fellowship, Royce Murray Young Investigator Award, Pittcon Achievement Award, Analyst Young Investigator Lectureship, Hach Distinguished Lectureship at Colorado State University, and the Arthur F. Findeis Award for Achievements by a Young Analytical Scientist from the Division of Analytical Chemistry of the American Chemical Society.

ACS Institute

Keep learning. Excel in your career.

Choose from more than 200 courses in seven different categories, taught by experts in the chemistry community, online and in person.