ACS Kids Zone

ACS Kids Zones are events that feature science activities conducted by ACS members to teach the public about the importance of chemistry.

Kids Zone logo

Join Chemists Around the World at the Virtual Pacifichem Kids Zone!

Vimeo ID: 656619870

Show aspiring chemists of all ages exciting demonstrations presented by real scientists during the Pacifichem Kids Zone! This event is hosted by the sponsoring societies of Pacifichem and consists of two parts: the first is a video that can be watched any time at this page. Come back for the premiere on 15 Dec, 13:00 HST | 15 Dec, 18:00 EST | 15 Dec, 23:00 GMT | 16 Dec, 08:00 JST.

The second are Question and Answer sessions with our presenters. Our presenters represent the Chemical Society of Japan, the New Zealand Institute of Chemistry, and the American Chemical Society.

Watch the video on Vimeo. Closed captions are available in English, French, Chinese (Simplified), Japanese, and Korean.

Come with your questions and learn from chemists from all around the world. There are two sessions and everyone is invited.

Access additional activities at the following links:

We hope to see you there!

Recent Event

ACS Kids Zone - Chemists Catalyze Change

Presidential Outreach Event, ACS Fall 2021 
Georgia Aquarium in Atlanta, GA and on Facebook Live

Chemists are catalysts for positive scientific and social change in communities everywhere! The ACS Committee on Community Activities and ACS President H. N. Cheng along with partners ACS Georgia Local Section, Spelman College Chemistry Club, and others hosted a hybrid in-person and virtual science event in celebration of the theme, Chemists Catalyze Change. During a one-hour shift, attendees and viewers:  

  • Conducted engaging hands-on science activities
  • Interviewed scientists at Meet a Chemist tables
  • Learned how to advocate for chemistry
  • Watched a short interactive play at the chemistry theater called “Choose That Catalyst,” authored by Holly Walter Kerby of Fusion Science Theater and funded by the National Science Foundation's Advancing Informal Science Learning Division

Watch the Virtual Event Recording

The Facebook Live event has been watched by thousands of interested families! You too can watch a recording of the virtual event on Facebook where ACS science communicator Allison Tau walks you through the full program, from watching the play in the chemistry theater to conducting the hands-on activities.

Download the Hands-On Activities

Want to do the activities from the event at home? Download the activity instructions below:

Learn About Chemistry Advocacy

Chemists Catalyze Change design
Picture of the hosts of the chemistry play "Choose That Catalyst"
Credit: EPNAC.com
Picture of volunteers at the ACS Kids Zone in Atlanta
Credit: David Horwitz/ACS
Picture of a kid conducting a hands-on activity with light sticks
Credit: EPNAC.com
Contact icon

Contact the ACS Office of Science Outreach
outreach@acs.org