Glenn T. Seaborg Award for Nuclear Chemistry

Award at a Glance

Recipient Faculty, Industry, Chemistry Professional
Category National Awards
Amount$5,000 + expenses
DeadlineNovember 1, 2022


To recognize and encourage research in nuclear and radiochemistry or their applications.


The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.


A nominee must have made outstanding contributions to nuclear or radiochemistry or to their applications. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.


November 1 (annual review)

How to Apply

The nomination period is open from July 1 to November 1. Learn more about ACS National Award Nominations.


ACS Division of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology


The ACS Division of Nuclear Chemistry and Technology began sponsoring the award in 2004. ACS sponsored the award in 2002 and 2003. The Gordon and Breach Publishing Group sponsored the award from 1996 to 2001. As the ACS Award for Nuclear Chemistry, it was supported by funds from a gift to the Society by an anonymous donor during 1990 to 1991 and in odd-numbered years from 1980 to 1985. In the intervening even-numbered years, it was sponsored by EG&G ORTEC. Sponsorship was assumed by Amersham Corp. from 1986 to 1989. The Nuclear-Chicago Corp. a subsidiary of G. D. Searle and Co. established a predecessor award, the ACS Award for Nuclear Applications in Chemistry, in 1953.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008

photo of Carolyn Anderson presented with her award
2022 recipient Carolyn J. Anderson (center) is presented her award by Sylvia Jurrisond (right), and Angela K. Wilson, ACS President (left).
Photo by Nam Thai,

Related Opportunities