Harry Gray Award for Creative Work in Inorganic Chemistry by a Young Investigator

Award at a Glance

Recipient Faculty, Chemistry Professional, Early Career, International
Category National Awards
Amount$5,000 + expenses
DeadlineNovember 1, 2023


To recognize creative and impactful work by a young investigator in a forefront area of inorganic chemistry, broadly defined.


The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.


The award will be granted to an individual who has less than 10 years of experience since their terminal degree. The nominee must have demonstrated innovative research in inorganic chemistry broadly defined, which may include interdisciplinary or multidisciplinary work. Special consideration will be given to the creativity and the actual or potential impact of the research. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, religion, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities and educational background.


November 1 (Annual Review)

How to Apply

The nomination period is open from July 1 to November 1 annually. Learn more about submitting a nomination for the ACS National Awards.


Supported by an Endowed Fund Established by Harry Gray and the Friends and Colleagues of Harry Gray


The award was established in 2012 and is supported through the Gray Award Endowment.

Past Recipients

  • 2024 - V. Sara A. Thoi
  • 2023 - Robert Jerard Gilliard, Jr.
  • 2022 -  Justin I. Wilson
  • 2021 - Smaranda C. Marinescu
  • 2020 - Hemamala Karunadasa
  • 2019 - Jillian Lee Dempsey
  • 2018 - Dwight Seferos
  • 2017 - Nilay Hazari
  • 2016 - Eric J. Schelter
  • 2015 - Emily A. Weiss

Contact icon

Contact Us

ACS National Awards Program
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW | Washington, DC 20036
Email: awards@acs.org

2024 Gray Award Recipient V. Sara A. Thoi
2024 Recipient V. Sara A. Thoi (Center) is Presented with Her Award by Mary K. Carroll, ACS President (Left), and Malika Jeffries-El, ACS Board of Directors (Right)
Photo by EPNAC.com

Related Opportunities