Kathryn C. Hach Award for Entrepreneurial Success

Award at a Glance

Recipient Industry, Chemistry Professional
Category National Awards
Amount$20,000 + expenses
DeadlineNovember 1, 2022


To recognize outstanding entrepreneurs who have created a commercially viable business within the chemical enterprise.


Starting with a good idea, sustained by passion, fueled by persistence and hard work, the award recipient created something where nothing existed before. The awardee is recognized for creating a new product, service, company or industry based on the transforming power of chemistry to improve people’s lives. The hallmark of this contribution is impact: positive impact on people’s lives and positive impact on the economy by creating chemistry jobs that produce a significant economic benefit.

The award will consist of $20,000, a certificate, and a feature article in an official ACS publication (e.g., C&EN) on the awardee(s) and his/her business. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.


Only ACS members are eligible for this award. Nominees may include individual entrepreneurs or teams (maximum three individuals). If a team wins the Award, a cash award of $20,000 will be shared equally by all team members; the team member(s) who travel to the meeting will also share the $2,500 for travel expenses. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, or educational background.


November 1 (annual review)

How to Apply

The nomination period is open from July 1 to November 1. Learn more about ACS National Award Nominations.


Kathryn C. Hach Award Fund


The award was established in 2012 and is supported through the Kathryn C. Hach Award Endowment.

Past Recipients

  • 2022 - Pamela G. Marrone
  • 2021 - Craig Hawker
  • 2020 - Paul Schimmel
  • 2019 - Jack N. Driscoll
  • 2018 - Javier Garcia Martinez
  • 2017 - David R. Walt
  • 2016 - Scott Allen, Anthony R. Eisenhut, and Geoffrey W. Coates
  • 2015 - Terry L. Brewer
  • 2014 - Joseph M. DeSimone, Benjamin W. Maynor, Jason P. Rolland

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4409
Fax: 202-776-8008

Pam Marronel receives her 2022 award plaque on stage with the ACS President and her sponsor representative.
2022 recipient Pam Marrone (center) is presented her award by sponsor representative, Katherine L. Lee (right), and Angela K. Wilson, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS

Related Opportunities