American Chemical Society names ACS Fellows for 2023

News Releases


WASHINGTON, July 27, 2023 — The American Chemical Society (ACS) has named 42 members as ACS Fellows.  

The fellows program began in 2009 as a way to recognize and honor ACS members for outstanding achievements in and contributions to science, the profession and ACS. 

Nominations for the 2024 class of ACS Fellows will open in the first quarter of next year. Additional information about the program, including a list of fellows named in prior years, is available at

The 2023 ACS Fellows and their institutions are listed below.

Scott Bagley
Pfizer Inc.

Patricia A. Baisden
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (Retired) 

Vahe Bandarian
University of Utah 

Paul W. Bohn
University of Notre Dame 

Wilfred Chen
University of Delaware 

Qiang Cui
Boston University 

Kelly M. Elkins
Towson University 

Gregory S. Engel
University of Chicago 

Hongyou Fan
Sandia National Laboratories 

Lynn C. Francesconi
Hunter College 

Michael Gerken
University of Lethbridge 

Karen I. Goldberg
University of Pennsylvania 

Jillian L. Goldfarb
Cornell University 

Jaime C. Grunlan
Texas A&M University 

Ive Hermans
University of Wisconsin-Madison 

Robert M. Hoyte
State University of New York, Old Westbury 

Robin M. Izzo
Princeton University 

Philip G. Jessop
Queen’s University 

Ann C. Kimble-Hill
Indiana University 

Ranjit T. Koodali
Western Kentucky University 

LaShanda Korley
University of Delaware 

Qing X. Li
University of Hawaiʻi, Mānoa

Leigh R. Martin
Oak Ridge National Laboratory 

Luciano Mueller
Bristol-Myers Squibb Co.

Kristen L. Murphy
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee 

Chip Nataro
Lafayette College 

Marina A. Petrukhina
University at Albany

John J. Piwinski
JJPiwinski Pharma Consulting LLC 

Wael M. Rabeh
New York University Abu Dhabi 

Karthikeyan Ramasamy
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory 

Theresa M. Reineke
University of Minnesota 

Leah S. Riter
Bayer Corp.

Michelle L. Rivard

Omowunmi A. Sadik
New Jersey Institute of Technology

Paul M. Scola
Bristol-Myers Squibb Co.

Yuyan Shao
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory 

Carsten Sievers
Georgia Institute of Technology 

Samuella B. Sigmann
Appalachian State University (Retired) 

Christopher M. Stafford
National Institute of Standards and Technology 

Mary P. Watson
University of Delaware 

Jane E. Wissinger
University of Minnesota 

H. Lee Woodcock
University of South Florida 


The American Chemical Society (ACS) is a nonprofit organization chartered by the U.S. Congress. ACS’ mission is to advance the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Earth and all its people. The Society is a global leader in promoting excellence in science education and providing access to chemistry-related information and research through its multiple research solutions, peer-reviewed journals, scientific conferences, eBooks and weekly news periodical Chemical & Engineering News. ACS journals are among the most cited, most trusted and most read within the scientific literature; however, ACS itself does not conduct chemical research. As a leader in scientific information solutions, its CAS division partners with global innovators to accelerate breakthroughs by curating, connecting and analyzing the world’s scientific knowledge. ACS’ main offices are in Washington, D.C., and Columbus, Ohio.

To automatically receive press releases from the American Chemical Society, contact

Note: ACS does not conduct research, but publishes and publicizes peer-reviewed scientific studies.

Media Contact

ACS Newsroom