American Chemical Society names Fellows for 2015

WASHINGTON, July 21, 2015 — The American Chemical Society (ACS) has named the 2015 class of ACS Fellows, which includes 78 scientists who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in chemistry and made important contributions to ACS, the world’s largest scientific society. They represent a wide range of disciplines and geographic locations, from 30 of the Society’s technical divisions, 57 local sections and 23 national committees.

The 2015 Fellows will be recognized at a ceremony and reception on Monday, August 17, during the Society’s 250th National Meeting & Exposition in Boston.

“Through their work, the ACS Fellows are using the transforming power of chemistry to improve health, protect the planet and feed the world’s population. Through their service in the community they are making science accessible to all, supporting students and teachers and giving back through countless acts of public outreach,” said ACS President Diane Grob Schmidt.

The ACS Fellows Program was created by the ACS Board of Directors in December 2008 “to recognize members of ACS for outstanding achievements in and contributions to science, the profession and the Society.”

The official list of names appears in the July 13, 2015, issue of Chemical & Engineering News. Click here for a list of all ACS Fellows (2009-2014) that can be organized by name and institution.

Here are the 2015 Fellows and their institutions:

  • 3M Corporation, Ramesh C. Kumar
  • Advanced Fuel Research, Inc., Michael A. Serio
  • Air Force Research Laboratory, Joseph M. Mabry
  • Air Force Research Laboratory, Richard A. Vaia
  • American Chemical Society, John M. Malin
  • Baylor University, George P. Cobb, III
  • Clarkson University, Richard Partch
  • Colorado State University, Ellen R. Fisher
  • Critical Path Services, LLC, Rodney Bennett
  • Cytokinetics, Inc., Bonnie A. Charpentier
  • Dow Corning Corporation, Gretchen Kohl
  • E.I. DuPont de Nemours and Company, Nora S. Radu
  • Eastern Michigan University, Ellene Tratras Contis
  • Eastern Michigan University, John Texter
  • Eastman Chemical Company, Dawn Mason
  • Eastman Kodak and Eastman Chemical Company, and Seres laboratories, Inc., Mark D. Frishberg
  • Emory University, Lanny S. Liebeskind
  • ExxonMobil Chemical Company, Anthony Jay Dias
  • Finnegan Henderson Farabow Garrett & Dunner, LLP, Justin J. Hasford
  • Florida Institute of Technology, Gordon L. Nelson
  • FluoroScience, LLC, Paul R. Resnick
  • Georgia Institute of Technology, Christopher W. Jones
  • Haley & Aldrich, Inc., Anthony M. Noce
  • Honeywell International-Buffalo Research Laboratory, David Nalewajek
  • IBM Almaden Research Center, Jane Frommer
  • Idaho State University, Joshua Pak
  • Instant Reference Sources, Lawrence H. Keith
  • Lamar University, John A. Whittle
  • Loyola University Chicago, Linda C. Brazdil
  • Macalester College, Rebecca Cowan Hoye
  • Macalester College, Wayne C. Wolsey
  • McGill University, Chao-Jun Li
  • Merck Research Laboratories, Amjad Ali
  • Midwest Chemical Safety, LLC, Harry J. Elston
  • Moravian College, R. Daniel Libby
  • Murray State University, Bommanna G. Loganathan
  • National Nanotechnology Coordination Office, Michael A. Meador
  • Northern Oklahoma College, Frankie Wood-Black
  • Northwestern University and Argonne National Laboratory, Joseph T. Hupp
  • PID Analyzers, LLC, John Driscoll
  • Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, Professor and Director of Macromolecular Science & Engineering, Richard M. Laine
  • Saint Vincent College, Matthew A. Fisher
  • San Diego Mesa College, Edward C. Alexander
  • Science is Fun!, Marinda Li Wu
  • Sigma Aldrich, Michael Singer
  • Southern California Earthquake Center, University of Southern California, Robert-Michael de Groot
  • St. Edward’s University, Mary K. Boyd
  • State University of New York at Geneseo and Fairleigh Dickinson University, Amber Flynn Charlebois
  • Temple University , Steven A. Fleming
  • Texas A & M University, Vickie M. Williamson
  • The Catholic University of America, Diane M. Bunce
  • The University of Delaware, David C. Martin
  • Towanda Metadyne Inc., Raj P. Gaur
  • Tufts University, Peggy Cebe
  • U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service, Michael Appell
  • U.S. Department of Agriculture, Food Safety and Inspection Service, Office of Public Health Science, John J. Johnston
  • University of California, San Diego, Seth M. Cohen
  • University of Cincinnati, Dionysios (Dion) Dionysiou
  • University of Delaward, Karl S. Booksh
  • University of Delaware, George W. Luther, III
  • University of Detroit Mercy, Mark Benvenuto
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Martin Gruebele
  • University of Iowa, Renee S. Cole
  • University of Iowa, Leonard R. MacGillivray
  • University of Maryland, Alice C. Mignerey
  • University of Michigan, Brian P. Coppola
  • University of Minnesota, Yusuf Abul-Hajj
  • University of Minnesota – Twin Cities, R. Lee Penn
  • University of Richmond, Carol A. Parish
  • University of South Florida, Jennifer E. Lewis
  • University of Southern California, Anna Krylov
  • University of Tennessee & Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Mark Dadmun
  • University of Vermont, Willem R. Leenstra
  • University of Wisconsin-River Falls, Marilyn D. Duerst
  • UOP/AlliedSignal Research Centers, Inara Mencis Brubaker
  • Verginia Commnwealth University, Robert Bass
  • Virginia Tech, T. Daniel Crawford
  • Wayne State University, Christine S. Chow

To automatically receive press releases from the American Chemical Society, contact


Follow us:      

Media Contact

Joan Coyle