American Chemical Society names ACS Fellows for 2018

WASHINGTON, July 24, 2018 — The American Chemical Society (ACS) has named 51 members to the 2018 class of ACS Fellows. The purpose of the program is to recognize and honor ACS members for their outstanding achievements in and contributions to the science and the profession and for their equally exemplary service to the Society.

The 2018 ACS Fellows will be recognized at a ceremony and reception on Monday, Aug. 20, during the Society’s National Meeting & Exposition in Boston.

The official list of names appears in the July 16 issue of Chemical & Engineering News.

Here are the 2018 Fellows, listed alphabetically by last names:

  • Souhail R. Al-Abed, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • Kara M. Allen, Aegis Sciences
  • Peter R. Bernstein, PhaRmaB
  • Amanda Bryant-Friedrich, University of Toledo
  • Susan Beda Butts, Dow Chemical
  • William F. Carroll Jr., Indiana University
  • Hongyu Chen, Dow Chemical
  • Pat N. Confalone, Confalone Consulting
  • Janine Cossy, ESPCI Paris
  • E. Bryan Coughlin, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • Paul J. Fagan, DuPont
  • Andrew L. Feig, Wayne State University
  • Neil K. Garg, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Carmen Valdez Gauthier, Florida Southern College
  • Brian R. Gibney, Brooklyn College and the Graduate Center of the City University of New York
  • Cathleen Hapeman, Agricultural Research Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture
  • Lynn G. Hartshorn, University of St. Thomas
  • Teresa Head-Gordon, University of California, Berkeley
  • Barbara R. Hillery, SUNY Old Westbury
  • Elizabeth M. Howson, Chatham High School
  • Malika Jeffries-EL, Boston University
  • Kimberly Begley Jeskie, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Kerry K. Karukstis, Harvey Mudd College
  • Michelle K. Kidder, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Judy E. Kim, University of California, San Diego
  • Jaqueline L. Kiplinger, Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Louise M. Lawter, Degussa (retired)
  • Eric K. Lin, National Institute of Standards & Technology
  • John M. Long, JM Long Rubber Consultants
  • Walter D. Loveland, Oregon State University
  • Ripudaman Malhotra, SRI International
  • Stephen F. Martin, University of Texas, Austin
  • Andrew W. Maverick, Louisiana State University
  • Scott J. Miller, Yale University
  • Burnaby Munson, University of Delaware
  • Roger Alan Parker, Xavier University
  • Melissa A. Pasquinelli, North Carolina State University
  • Sarma V. Pisupati, Pennsylvania State University
  • Michael A. Reynolds, Shell Exploration & Production
  • Stuart Rowan, University of Chicago
  • Martin D. Rudd, University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh
  • Joseph Sabol, Joseph E. Sabol Consulting
  • Daniel A. Savin, University of Florida
  • Dawn A. Shaughnessy, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • Jay S. Siegel, Tianjin University
  • Paris Svoronos, Queensborough Community College
  • Richard P. Van Duyne, Northwestern University
  • Dujin Wang, Chinese Academy of Sciences
  • Michael S. Wong, Rice University
  • Wendy B. Young, Genentech
  • Doris Zimmerman, Thiel College (retired)

The American Chemical Society, the world’s largest scientific society, is a not-for-profit organization chartered by the U.S. Congress. ACS is a global leader in providing access to chemistry-related information and research through its multiple databases, peer-reviewed journals and scientific conferences. ACS does not conduct research, but publishes and publicizes peer-reviewed scientific studies. Its main offices are in Washington, D.C., and Columbus, Ohio.

To automatically receive press releases from the American Chemical Society, contact


Follow us:      

Media Contact

ACS Newsroom