FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE | November 05, 2019

American Chemical Society announces election results for 2020 officers

WASHINGTON, Nov. 5, 2019 — The American Chemical Society (ACS), the world’s largest scientific society, has announced the results of its national election. Society members elected the following officers and members of the Board of Directors for 2020:


H. N. Cheng, Ph.D., research chemist with the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service, New Orleans

Board of Directors

Bryan Balazs, Ph.D., Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (retired), Livermore, California

Christina C. Bodurow, Ph.D., vice president of global regulatory affairs at IQVIA, Indianapolis

Lisa Houston, director at Petroleum Analyzer Co., Houston

Dorothy J. Phillips, Ph.D., retired chemist, Waters Corporation, Natick, Massachusetts

These officers will join the following, who were previously elected by ACS members to serve terms in 2020:


Luis A. Echegoyen, Ph.D., Robert A. Welch professor of chemistry at the University of Texas at El Paso

Immediate Past President

Bonnie A. Charpentier, Ph.D., senior vice president of regulatory affairs and compliance at Cytokinetics, South San Francisco, California

Board of Directors

John E. Adams, Ph.D., curators’ distinguished teaching professor emeritus of chemistry at the University of Missouri-Columbia

Thomas M. Connelly Jr., Ph.D., ACS executive director and CEO, Washington, D.C.

Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D., global R&D operations and portfolio management leader at DuPont Transportation and Industrial, Wilmington, Delaware

Paul W. Jagodzinski, Ph.D., dean, college of engineering, forestry and natural sciences, and professor in the department of chemistry and biochemistry, Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff

Wayne E. Jones Jr., Ph.D., provost and vice president for academic affairs at the University of New Hampshire, Durham

Lee H. Latimer, Ph.D., consultant in drug development at LH Latimer Consulting, Oakland, California

Katherine L. Lee, Ph.D., associate research fellow at Pfizer, West Newton, Massachusetts

Ingrid Montes, Ph.D., assistant dean of graduate studies and research at the University of Puerto Rico, Río Piedras Campus

Barbara A. Sawrey, Ph.D., distinguished teaching professor in the department of chemistry and biochemistry at the University of California, San Diego

Other Society officers include:

Flint H. Lewis, ACS secretary and general counsel, Washington, D.C.

Albert Horvath, ACS treasurer and chief financial officer, Washington, D.C.

The American Chemical Society, the world’s largest scientific society, is a nonprofit organization chartered by the U.S. Congress. ACS is a global leader in providing access to chemistry-related information and research through its multiple databases, peer-reviewed journals and scientific conferences. ACS does not conduct research, but publishes and publicizes peer-reviewed scientific studies. Its main offices are in Washington, D.C., and Columbus, Ohio.

To automatically receive press releases from the American Chemical Society, contact


Follow us:      

Media Contact

ACS Newsroom