This document was developed with input from across the chemistry academic community. The chemistry education professionals, who served on the SOCED task forces, current and past, are acknowledged.

ACS also extends a special note of thanks to the many individuals and groups—among them middle and high school teachers, administrators, faculty at two- and four-year postsecondary institutions, and the ACS committees, task forces, and working groups who reviewed drafts of this document.

SOCED Task Force on the Guidelines and Recommendations for Teaching Middle and High School Chemistry, 2018:

Deborah Cook, Rider University, Task Force Chair
Diane Krone, Northern Highlands Regional High School (retired), SOCED Chair 2015-2017
Jenelle Ball, Chico High School
Jesse Bernstein, Miami Country Day School
Jennifer Bishoff, Frostburg State University
Simon Bott, Swansea University
Michael Chapman, Buckingham, Browne, and Nichols School
W. Patrick Cunningham, Claudia Taylor Johnson High School
Carmen Gauthier, Florida Southern College
Jessica C. Levine, Eckstein Middle School
Sharon Palmer, Amherst Regional High School
Todd Smeltz, Upper Dauphin Area High School
Kristine Smetana, J Sargeant Reynolds Community College
Rachel Morgan Theall, Southeast Missouri State University

ACS Staff Liaisons:

LaTrease Garrison, Executive Vice President, Education
Terri Chambers, Director, Learning & Career Development
Emily Abbott, Portfolio Manager, Career & Learning Resources
Lorinda Bullock, Senior Web Editor