ACS Award for Creative Work in Fluorine Chemistry

Award at a Glance

Recipient Industry, Faculty, Chemistry Professional, International
Category National Awards
Amount$5,000 + expenses
DeadlineNovember 1, 2023


To recognize outstanding contributions to the advancement of the chemistry of fluorine.


The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed. The award is presented in odd-numbered years at the Biennial Winter Fluorine Conference. The award is presented in even-numbered years during an ACS Spring Meeting at which the ACS Division of Fluorine Chemistry meets.


A nominee must have made an outstanding contribution or contributions to the field of fluorine chemistry. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.


November 1 (Annual Review)

How to Apply

The nomination period is open from July 1 to November 1 annually. Learn more about submitting a nomination for the ACS National Awards.


Sponsored by the ACS Division of Fluorine Chemistry


The award was established in 1971 by PCR, Inc. and was administered by the ACS Division of Fluorine Chemistry until 1990. Clariant LSM (Florida) Inc., formerly Lancaster Synthesis, Inc., sponsored the award from 1991 to 2003. SynQuest Laboratories Inc. sponsored the award in 2004 and 2006 and supported the award in 2008. Honeywell sponsored the award in 2005 and 2007 and from 2009 to 2014. The Juhua Group Technology Center China sponsored the award in 2015 and 2016. The ACS Division of Fluorine Chemistry sponsored the award from 2017 to 2020. Arkema sponsored the award in 2021 and 2022. The ACS Division of Fluorine Chemistry has sponsored the award since 2023.

Contact icon

Contact Us

ACS National Awards Program
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW | Washington, DC 20036

2024 Fluorine Chemistry Award Recipient Michelle C. Y. Chang
2024 Recipient Michelle C. Y. Chang (Center) is Presented with Her Award by Mary K. Carroll, ACS President (Left), and Sponsor Representative David A. Dixon (Right)
Photo by

Related Opportunities