Ahmed Zewail Award in Ultrafast Science and Technology

Award at a Glance

Category National Awards
Amount$5,000 + expenses
DeadlineNovember 1, 2022


To recognize outstanding and creative contributions to fundamental discoveries or inventions in ultrafast science & technology in areas of physics, chemistry, biology, or related fields.


The award will consist of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.


The award will be for outstanding and creative contributions by a nominee to fundamental discoveries or inventions in ultrafast science and technology in the areas of physics, chemistry, biology, or related fields regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background. The recipient will have conducted original and insightful research that has had a significant impact on the field of ultrafast science and technology.


November 1 (annual review)

How to Apply

The nomination period is open from July 1 to November 1. Learn more about ACS National Award Nominations.


Ahmed Zewail Endowment Fund established by the Newport Corporation


The award was established in 2005 and is supported by the Ahmed Zewail Endowment Fund, established by the Newport Corporation.

Past Recipients

  • 2022: Thomas Elsaesser
  • 2021: Majed Chergui
  • 2020: Olga Smirnova
  • 2019: Hrvoje Petek
  • 2018: Xiaoyang Zhu
  • 2017: Stephen R. Leone
  • 2016: Andrei Tokmakoff
  • 2015: Shaul Mukamel
  • 2014: Michael D. Fayer
  • 2013: David M. Jonas
  • 2012: Keith A. Nelson
  • 2011: Charles B. Harris
  • 2010: Paul Corkum
  • 2009: Margaret M. Murnane and Henry Kapteyn
  • 2008: Graham R. Fleming
  • 2007: Robin M. Hochstrasser

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008

photo of Thomas Elsaesser presented with his award
2022 recipient Thomas Elsaesser (right) is presented his award by Angela K. Wilson, ACS President (left).
Photo by Nam Thai, EPNAC.com

Related Opportunities