ACS Award in Applied Polymer Science

Award at a Glance

Recipient Faculty, Industry, Chemistry Professional
Category National Awards
Amount$5,000 + expenses
DeadlineNovember 1, 2022


To recognize and encourage outstanding achievements in the science or technology of plastics, coatings, polymer composites, adhesives, and related fields.


The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.


This award recognizes and encourages the achievements of scientists who are active in the fields of polymer and polymer materials research. The recipient will be selected primarily on the basis of scientific contributions made to the technology of plastics, coatings, polymer composites, adhesives, and related fields during the 10-year period preceding the date of selection. Preference will be given to avoid repeating specific areas of technology whenever recognized by the granting of this award in the two preceding years. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.


November 1 (annual review)

How to Apply

The nomination period is open from July 1 to November 1. Learn more about ACS National Award Nominations.


Eastman Chemical Company


Eastman Chemical Company began sponsoring the award in 2004. The ACS sponsored the award in 2000 and 2003. The ACS Division of Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering and the ACS Corporation Associates sponsored the 2001 and 2002 presentations. The Phillips Petroleum Co. sponsored the award from 1981 to 1999. A prior ACS Award in the Chemistry of Plastics and Coatings sponsored by the Borden Foundation, Inc. was established in 1966. No award was given in 1982.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008

photo of Richard B. Kaner presented with his award
2022 recipient Richard B. Kaner is presented his award by Angela K. Wilson, ACS President (left).
Photo by Nam Thai,

Related Opportunities