ACS Award in Pure Chemistry

Award at a Glance

Recipient Faculty, Industry, Chemistry Professional, Early Career
Category National Awards
Amount$5,000 + expenses
DeadlineNovember 1, 2022


To recognize and encourage fundamental research in pure chemistry carried out in North America by young men and women.


The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $1,000 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.


A nominee must have fewer than 10 years of experience since his/her terminal degree and must have accomplished research of unusual merit for an individual on the threshold of her or his career. Special consideration is given to independence of thought and originality in the research, which must have been carried out in North America. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.


November 1 (annual review)

How to Apply

The nomination period is open from July 1 to November 1. Learn more about ACS National Award Nominations.


Alpha Chi Sigma Fraternity and the Alpha Chi Sigma Educational Foundation


In 1940, Alpha Chi Sigma Fraternity assumed the financial obligation and has continued its support.The award was established in 1931 by A. C. Langmuir and was supported by A.C. and Irving Langmuir through 1937. In 1938, James Kendall financed the prize. No award was made in 1939.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008

Danna E. Freedman, 2019 recipient, smiles on stage while receiving her ACS award.
2019 recipient Danna E. Freedman (center) is presented her award by sponsor representative, Kip Nalley (right) and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS
photo of Gabriela S. Schlau-Cohen presented with her award
2022 recipient Gabriela S. Schlau-Cohen (center) is presented her award by Faith Yarberry (right), and Angela K. Wilson, ACS President (left).
Photo by Nam Thai,

Related Opportunities