ACS Award in Surface Chemistry

Award at a Glance

Recipient Industry, Faculty, Chemistry Professional, International
Category National Awards
Amount$5,000 + expenses
DeadlineNovember 1, 2023


To recognize distinguished services in the advancement of surface chemistry.


The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.


A nominee must have demonstrated extensive contributions to the advancement of surface chemistry. Activities recognized by the award may include such fields as teaching, writing, research, and administration. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.


November 1 (Annual Review)

How to Apply

The nomination period is open from July 1 to November 1 annually. Learn more about submitting a nomination for the ACS National Awards.


Sponsored by the Procter & Gamble Company


The award was established as the Arthur W. Adamson Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Surface Chemistry by Occidental Petroleum Corp. in 1991. The ACS sponsored the award from 2008 to 2010. No award was presented in 2011. The ACS Publications journal Langmuir and the ACS Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry sponsored the award from 2012 to 2014. The award was not presented in 2015 and 2016. The ACS Division of Colloid and Surface Chemistry sponsored the award in 2017. The Procter & Gamble Company began sponsoring the award in 2018.

Contact icon

Contact Us

ACS National Awards Program
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW | Washington, DC 20036

2024 Surface Chemistry Award Recipient Hedi Mattoussi
2024 Recipient Hedi Mattoussi (Center) is Presented with His Award by Mary K. Carroll, ACS President (Left), and Sponsor Representative Gerard Baillely (Right)
Photo by

Related Opportunities