George A. Olah Award in Hydrocarbon or Petroleum Chemistry

Award at a Glance

Recipient Industry, Faculty, Chemistry Professional, International
Category National Awards
Amount$5,000 + expenses
DeadlineNovember 1, 2023


To recognize, encourage, and stimulate outstanding research achievements in hydrocarbon or petroleum chemistry.


The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.


The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background. A nominee must be a resident of the United States or Canada and have accomplished outstanding research in the chemistry of hydrocarbons or petroleum and its products. Special consideration will be given to independence of thought and originality.


November 1 (Annual Review)

How to Apply

The nomination period is open from July 1 to November 1 annually. Learn more about submitting a nomination for the ACS National Awards.


Supported by an Endowed Fund Established by Morris S. Smith Foundation and the Dow Chemical Company


The award was established in 1948 as the ACS Award in Petroleum Chemistry and was sponsored by the Precision Scientific Co. until 1973. No award was presented in 1974 and 1975. The Lubrizol Corp. sponsored the award from 1976 to 1985. The Amoco Foundation sponsored the award from 1986 to 1994. Since 1997, the award has been supported by an endowed fund initially created by donations from the Morris S. Smith Foundation and the Dow Chemical Company.

Contact icon

Contact Us

ACS National Awards Program
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW | Washington, DC 20036

2024 Olah Award Recipient Umit S. Ozkan
2024 Recipient Umit S. Ozkan (Center) is Presented with Her Award by Mary K. Carroll, ACS President (Left), and Judith C. Giordan, ACS Immediate Past President (Right)
Photo by

Related Opportunities