Irving Langmuir Award in Chemical Physics

Award at a Glance

Recipient Faculty, Industry, Chemistry Professional
Category National Awards
Amount$5,000 + expenses
DeadlineNovember 1, 2022


To recognize and encourage outstanding interdisciplinary research in chemistry and physics, in the spirit of Irving Langmuir.


The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. The American Chemical Society makes the presentation in even-numbered years. The American Physical Society makes the presentation in odd-numbered years. Up to $1,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.


A nominee must have made an outstanding contribution to chemical physics or physical chemistry within the 10 years preceding the current nomination. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background. No individual may receive a second Irving Langmuir Award or Prize.


November 1 (presented biennially in even-numbered years)

How to Apply

The nomination period is open from July 1 to November 1. Learn more about ACS National Award Nominations.


Journal of Chemical Physics and the ACS Division of Physical Chemistry


The Journal of Chemical Physics and the ACS Division of Physical Chemistry began cosponsoring the award in 2020. The ACS Division of Physical Chemistry and the ACS cosponsored the award 2018-2019. The ACS Division of Physical Chemistry cosponsored the award with GE Global Research from 2010-2017. In 2006, GE Global Research assumed full sponsorship until 2009. The General Electric Foundation established the award in 1964.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036-4408
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008

photo of Heather C. Allen presented with her award
2022 recipient Heather C. Allen, attending virtually, is presented her award by Tianquan (Tim) Lian and C. David Sherrill (right), and Angela K. Wilson, ACS President (left).
Photo by Nam Thai,

Related Opportunities