M. Frederick Hawthorne Award in Main Group Inorganic Chemistry

Award at a Glance

Recipient Faculty, Industry, Chemistry Professional
Category National Awards
Amount$5,000 + expenses
DeadlineNovember 1, 2023


To encourage the advancement of inorganic chemistry and promote the careers of inorganic chemists.


The award will consist of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $1,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.


The award will be granted to a researcher who makes significant contributions to chemistry involving the elements of groups 1, 2, and 13-18 in the periodic table.

Special consideration should be given to demonstrated creativity and independence of thought in keeping with the example provided by Professor M. Frederick Hawthorne. The ongoing purpose of the award is to advance science in the rest of the periodic table. The award is granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.


November 1 (Annual Review)

How to Apply

The nomination period is open from July 1 to November 1 annually. Learn more about submitting a nomination for the ACS National Awards.


M. Frederick Hawthorne Award Endowment


The award was established in 2019 and is supported through the M. Frederick Hawthorne Award Endowment.

Past Recipients

  • 2023 - Christopher Cummins
  • 2022 - Philip P. Power
  • 2021 - Karl O. Christe

Contact Information

ACS National Awards Program
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW | Washington, DC 20036
Email: awards@acs.org

2023 Recipient Christopher Cummins
2023 Recipient Christopher Cummins (Center) is Presented with His Award by Judith Giordan, ACS President (Left) and Katherine L. Lee, ACS Board of Directors (Right)
Photo by EPNAC.com

Related Opportunities