Nobel Laureate Signature Award for Graduate Education in Chemistry

Award at a Glance

Recipient Student
Category National Awards
Amount$3,000 + expenses
DeadlineNovember 1, 2023


To recognize an outstanding an outstanding graduate student and her or his preceptor(s) in the field of chemistry, as broadly defined.


The graduate student will receive $3,000 and a plaque inscribed with the signatures of Nobel laureates. The student's preceptor(s) will receive $3,000 and a plaque for permanent display in the institution's chemistry department. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed by the sponsor.


The graduate student nominee must have completed a Ph.D. dissertation in chemistry within the 12-month period before the deadline for receipt of nominations. The award will recognize only work done while the nominee was a graduate student. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.


November 1 (Annual Review)

How to Apply

The nomination period is open from July 1 to November 1 annually. Learn more about submitting a nomination for the ACS National Awards.

A nomination should consist of (1) a nominator form including a brief biographical sketch of the graduate student nominee and the preceptor(s); (2) a synopsis of the nominee's dissertation no longer than ten typewritten pages (double-spaced); and (3) one or two support letters from experts in the field of the dissertation independently appraising its significance. All documents must be in English.




The award was established in 1978 by Avantor (formerly Mallinckrodt Baker Inc.) as the Nobel Laureate Signature Award for a Graduate Student in Chemistry. The award was extended to recognize the student's preceptor(s) in 1980 and the title was changed.

The Nobel Laureate Signature Award for Graduate Education in Chemistry is sponsored by Avantor. Designation of the award as the Nobel Laureate Signature Award is made with the acquiescence of the Nobel Foundation.

Contact Information

ACS National Awards Program
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW | Washington, DC 20036

2023 Recipients Rachelle A. Copeland, J. Martin Bollinger, Jr., and Carsten Krebs
2023 Recipients Rachelle A. Copeland (First Right), J. Martin Bollinger, Jr. (Attending Virtually), and Carsten Krebs (Center) are Presented with Their Awards by Judith Giordan, ACS President (First Left) and Sponsor Representatives Nandu V. Deorkar (Second Left) and Erik Sorenson (Second Right)
Photo by

Related Opportunities