American Chemical Society names Fellows for 2012

WASHINGTON, Aug. 8, 2012 — The American Chemical Society (ACS) has named the 2012 class of ACS Fellows, a prestigious honor bestowed upon 96 distinguished scientists who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in chemistry and made important contributions to ACS, the world’s largest scientific society. They represent 23 technical divisions and 52 local sections and reflect a wide range of disciplines and geographic locations.

“These chemists hold the future to our country, to our way of life and to the legacy we will leave for the next generation,” said ACS President Bassam Z. Shakhashiri, Ph.D. “Whether it’s producing renewable fuels, finding cures for afflictions such as diabetes, cancer, AIDS and Alzheimer’s disease or ensuring safe drinking water, these Fellows are scientific leaders, improving our lives through the transforming power of chemistry.”

The 2012 Fellows will be recognized at an induction ceremony on August 20 during the Society’s 244th National Meeting & Exposition in Philadelphia, where each Fellow will receive a lapel pin and a certificate.

The ceremony will be held 1:30-4:00 p.m. at the Philadelphia Marriott Downtown, Grand Ballroom E/F.

The ACS Fellows Program was created by the ACS Board of Directors in December 2008 “to recognize members of ACS for outstanding achievements in and contributions to Science, the Profession and the Society.” Fellows come from academe, industry and government.

The official list of names appears in the July 23, 2012, issue of C&EN. For a listing of all ACS Fellows (2009-2012), download a spreadsheet that can be organized by name, institution and state.

This year’s class of Fellows includes professionals from the following institutions:

3M Company ExxonMobil Research & Engineering Co. Princeton University University of Idaho
Advanced Research Projects Agency, Energy (ARPA-E) Ford Motor Company Purdue University University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Agilent Technologies, Inc. Franklin International, LLC Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute University of Iowa
AIDSfreeAfrica Georgia Institute of Technology Rutgers University University of Kansas
Amoco-BP Headwaters Nanokinetics Shell Chemical Company University of Michigan
Argonne National Laboratory Howard University Southern Illinois University, Edwardsville University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Barnard College Illinois Institute of Technology St. John’s University University of Northern Colorado
Bayer Material Science, LLC INEOS Nitriles St. Louis Community College at Florissant Valley University of Notre Dame
Boston College Kaiser Aluminum & Chemical Corp St. Mary's College University of Portland
Bristol Myers Squibb KCP, Inc. Stanford University University of South Carolina
Brown University Los Alamos National Laboratory The Avout Group, LLC University of Tennessee
California Polytechnic Institute Loyola University The Ohio State University University of Toledo
Case Western Reserve University Massachusetts Institute of Technology The University of Tokyo University of Utah
Charles J. Brine & Assoc., LLC Merced College Trinity University University of Washington
Chemical Heritage Foundation Miami University United Technologies Research Center University of Wisconsin
Clemson University New Jersey Institute of Technology University Missouri U.S. Army Natick Soldier Research, Development & Engineering Center
Drexel University Northern Kentucky University University of Akron U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Court
Duke University PAC, LP University of California, Berkeley U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
DuPont Pacific Northwest National Laboratory University of California, San Diego Vanderbilt University
Duquesne University Parion Sciences, Inc. University of California, Santa Barbara  
Eastern Oregon University Polymer Chemistry Innovations, Inc. University of Cincinnati  
Elan Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Popz Europe    


To automatically receive news releases from the American Chemical Society contact

Media Contact

Joan Coyle