FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE | January 10, 2014

Rising Stars Award winners announced by the ACS Women Chemists Committee

WASHINGTON - The American Chemical Society (ACS) Women Chemists Committee (WCC) has named the recipients of its 2014 Rising Star Awards, which recognize exceptional early- to midcareer women chemists across all areas of chemistry on a national level. The awards were established in 2011 to help promote retention of women in science. The 2014 winners are:

  • Katherine Ayers, Ph.D. of Proton OnSite, Wallingford, Conn.  
  • Lauren Benz, Ph.D.  of the University of San Diego,
  • Louise Berben, Ph.D. of the University of California, Davis, Calif.
  • Julia Brumaghim, Ph.D. of Clemson University, Clemson, S.C.
  • Michelle Claffey, Ph.D. of Pfizer, Groton, Conn.
  • Nicole Crane, Ph.D. of the Naval Medical Research Center, Silver Spring, Md.
  • Elizabeth Jarvo, Ph.D. of the University of California, Irvine, Calif.
  • Katherine Kemmann  of Sherwin Williams, Cleveland, Ohio
  • Judy Kim, Ph.D. of the University of California, San Diego
  • Jennifer Schomaker, Ph.D. of the University of Wisconsin-Madison, Wis.

The winners will receive a $1,000 stipend to cover travel expenses to the spring 2014 ACS national meeting in Dallas where they will present their research at a WCC symposium.

The American Chemical Society is a nonprofit organization chartered by the U.S. Congress. With more than 163,000 members, ACS is the world’s largest scientific society and a global leader in providing access to chemistry-related research through its multiple databases, peer-reviewed journals and scientific conferences. Its main offices are in Washington, D.C., and Columbus, Ohio.

To automatically receive press releases from the American Chemical Society, contact


Follow us:      

Media Contact

Joan Coyle