American Chemical Society names ACS Fellows for 2017

WASHINGTON, June 20, 2017 — The American Chemical Society (ACS) has named the 2017 class of ACS Fellows, which includes scientists who have demonstrated outstanding accomplishments in chemistry and have made important contributions to ACS, the world’s largest scientific society.

The 2017 ACS Fellows will be recognized at a ceremony and reception on Monday, Aug. 21, during the Society’s 254th National Meeting & Exposition in Washington, D.C.

The ACS Fellows Program was created by the ACS Board of Directors in December 2008 to recognize members of ACS for outstanding achievements in and contributions to science, the profession and the Society.

The official list of names appears in the June 19 issue of Chemical & Engineering News.

Here are the 2017 Fellows, listed alphabetically by their institutions:

  • 3M Co., Sarah Mullins
  • Advanced Fuel Research Inc., Marek A. Wójtowicz
  • Arkema Inc., Dana Garcia
  • Auburn University, Stewart W. Schneller
  • Balbes Consultants LLC, Lisa M. Balbes
  • Battelle Memorial Institute (Emeritus), Robert H. Hill Jr.
  • Carnegie Mellon University, Todd M. Przybycien
  • CiVentiChem, Bhaskar R. Venepalli
  • Clark University, Sergio Granados-Focil
  • Consultant (Retired), William A. Szabo
  • DuPont Co., Barbara S. Larsen
  • Eastman Kodak Co., James Reynolds
  • Eastman Kodak Co.(Retired), D. Richard Cobb
  • EnviroChem Services, Martha J. M. Wells
  • Fordham University, Peter W. R. Corfield
  • Georgia Institute of Technology, Gary B. Schuster
  • Gordon College, Irvin J. Levy
  • Indiana University, Bloomington, Dennis G. Peters
  • Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, Pratibha Varma-Nelson
  • Johns Hopkins University, Joelle Frechette
  • Los Alamos National Laboratory, James M. Boncella
  • Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Rick L. Danheiser
  • Materials and Manufacturing Directorate, Air Force Research Laboratory, Timothy J. Bunning
  • Miami University (Retired), Lynn Hogue
  • Missouri University of Science and Technology, Yinfa Ma
  • Nanjing University, Hong-Yuan Chen
  • National Science Foundation, Wyn Jennings
  • North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, Etta C. Gravely
  • North Carolina State University and Qilu University of Technology, Lucian Lucia
  • Northwestern University, Chad A. Mirkin
  • Pace University, JaimeLee Iolani Rizzo
  • Pennsylvania State University, Burks, Lorena Tribe
  • Pfizer Inc., Katherine L. Lee
  • Pharma Innovation Sourcing Center, Balu Balasubramanian
  • Ridge View High School, Regis Ann Goode
  • Savannah River National Laboratory, Elise Bickford Fox
  • Savannah State University, Kenneth S. Sajwan
  • Sinopec Shanghai Research Institute of Petrochemical Technology, James H. Wang
  • St. John's School, Roxie V. Allen
  • Stanford Libraries, Grace Baysinger
  • Stony Brook University, Nicole S. Sampson
  • Texas A&M University, Donald J. Darensbourg
  • The Chemours Co., Viacheslav Petrov
  • The Dow Chemical Co., Mark E. Jones
  • The Dow Chemical Co., Al Ribes
  • The University of Arizona, Dennis L. Lichtenberger
  • The University of Iowa, Julie L. P. Jessop
  • The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Ziling Xue
  • U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service, Stephen O. Duke
  • U.S. Geological Survey, Ean Warren
  • University of California, Davis, Alyson E. Mitchell
  • University of California, Davis, Dean J. Tantillo
  • University of California, San Diego (Emeritus), Marjorie C. Caserio
  • University of Hawaii at Manoa, Ralf I. Kaiser
  • University of Houston, Scott R. Gilbertson
  • University of Louisville, Gerald B. "GB" Hammond
  • University of Montana, Nicholas R. Natale
  • University of New Hampshire, Arthur Greenberg
  • University of Richmond, John T. Gupton
  • University of San Diego, Tammy J. Dwyer
  • University of Texas at Austin, Larry R. Faulkner
  • University of Wisconsin – Madison, Edwin Sibert
  • Virginia Polytechnic Institute (Emeritus), Harold M. McNair
  • Washington State University, Aurora E. Clark
  • Wright State University (Emeritus), John J. Fortman

The American Chemical Society, the world’s largest scientific society, is a not-for-profit organization chartered by the U.S. Congress. ACS is a global leader in providing access to chemistry-related information and research through its multiple databases, peer-reviewed journals and scientific conferences. ACS does not conduct research, but publishes and publicizes peer-reviewed scientific studies. Its main offices are in Washington, D.C., and Columbus, Ohio.

To automatically receive press releases from the American Chemical Society, contact


Follow us:      

Media Contact

ACS Newsroom