FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE | October 31, 2017

American Chemical Society announces election results for 2018 officers

WASHINGTON, Oct. 31, 2017 — The American Chemical Society (ACS), the world’s largest scientific society, has announced the results of its elections. Society members elected the following officers for 2018:

ACS President-elect

Bonnie A. Charpentier, Ph.D., senior vice president for regulatory, quality and safety at Cytokinetics, South San Francisco, California


Teri Quinn Gray, Ph.D., global technology integration leader at DuPont Performance Materials, Wilmington, Delaware

Paul W. Jagodzinski, Ph.D., dean, College of Engineering, Forestry & Natural Sciences and professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Northern Arizona University, Flagstaff

Wayne E. Jones Jr., Ph.D., dean of engineering and physical sciences and professor of chemistry at the University of New Hampshire, Durham

Barbara A. Sawrey, Ph.D., distinguished teaching professor in the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at the University of California, San Diego

These officers will join the following, who were elected previously by ACS members to serve terms in 2018:

ACS President

Peter K. Dorhout, Ph.D., vice president for research and professor of chemistry at Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kansas

Immediate Past President

Allison A. Campbell, Ph.D., associate laboratory director at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, Washington


John E. Adams, Ph.D., curators’ teaching professor emeritus of chemistry at the University of Missouri-Columbia

Christina C. Bodurow, Ph.D., senior director of external sourcing in the medicines development unit at Eli Lilly & Co. in Indianapolis

Rigoberto Hernandez, Ph.D., Gompf Family Professor in the Department of Chemistry at Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland

Lee H. Latimer, Ph.D., consultant, Oakland, California

Ingrid Montes, Ph.D., assistant dean of graduate studies and research program at the University of Puerto Rico, Río Piedras Campus

Laura E. Pence, Ph.D., professor of chemistry in the College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Hartford, Connecticut

Dorothy J. Phillips, Ph.D., retired chemist, Waters Corporation, Natick, Massachusetts

Kathleen M. Schulz, Ph.D., president, Business Results Inc., Albuquerque, New Mexico

Other top officers include:

Thomas Connelly Jr., Ph.D., ACS executive director and CEO, Washington, D.C.

Flint H. Lewis, ACS secretary and general counsel, Arlington, Virginia

Brian A. Bernstein, ACS treasurer and chief financial officer, Alexandria, Virginia

The American Chemical Society, the world’s largest scientific society, is a not-for-profit organization chartered by the U.S. Congress. ACS is a global leader in providing access to chemistry-related information and research through its multiple databases, peer-reviewed journals and scientific conferences. ACS does not conduct research, but publishes and publicizes peer-reviewed scientific studies. Its main offices are in Washington, D.C., and Columbus, Ohio.

To automatically receive press releases from the American Chemical Society, contact


Follow us:      

Media Contact

ACS Newsroom