American Chemical Society names ACS Fellows for 2021

WASHINGTON, Aug. 9, 2021 — The American Chemical Society (ACS) named 49 members to the 2021 class of ACS Fellows.

Created by the ACS Board of Directors in December 2008, the Fellow of the American Chemical Society designation is awarded to members who have made exceptional contributions to the science or profession and have provided excellent volunteer service to the ACS community.

The official list of names appeared in the Aug. 2 issue of Chemical & Engineering News.

Here are the 2021 Fellows, listed alphabetically: 

Angie R. Angeles, Gilead Sciences

Edgar A. Arriaga, University of Minnesota

Lane A. Baker, Indiana University

Maria-Jesus Blanco, Sage Therapeutics

Keith R. Cadwallader, University of Illinois

David E. Chavez, Los Alamos National Laboratory

Jonathan Coffman, Boehringer Ingelheim

Ana de Bettencourt-Dias, University of Nevada, Reno

Kathryn D. Deibler, GlaxoSmithKline Consumer Healthcare

Michael A. Duncan, University of Georgia

Thomas H. Epps III, University of Delaware

William (Rick) Ewing, Philadelphia Local Section, Bristol Myers Squibb

Javier García-Martínez, University of Alicante

Rainer E. Glaser, Missouri University of Science and Technology

Meledath Govindan, Fitchburg State University

Timothy W. Hanks, Furman University

Eva M. Harth, University of Houston

George L. Heard, University of North Carolina Asheville

Mark C. Hersam, Northwestern University

Veronica I. Jaramillo, Pasadena City College

Dimitris Katsoulis, Dow

Ehud Keinan, Technion–Israel Institute of Technology

James D. Kubicki, University of Texas at El Paso

Kristen M. Kulinowski, IDA Science and Technology Policy Institute

Natalie A. LaFranzo, Cofactor Genomics Inc.

Vernita Bowden Lockhart, The Coca-Cola Company, Agnes Scott College

Chuanbin Mao, University of Oklahoma

Lisa A. Marcaurelle, GlaxoSmithKline

Heather D. Maynard, University of California, Los Angeles

Denise Lynn Merkle, SciConsult

Panche Naumov, New York University (NYU), NYU Abu Dhabi

Maria Oliver-Hoyo, North Carolina State University

Bosoon Park, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service

B. Montgomery Pettitt, University of Texas Medical Branch

Joseph M. Pickel, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Xavier Pillai, Leydig, Voit & Mayer

Seth C. Rasmussen, North Dakota State University

Michelle Rogers, Cargill

Sharon K. Schneider, U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service

Virender K. Sharma, Texas A&M University

Susan M. Shih, College of DuPage (emeritus)

Laura S. Sremaniak, North Carolina State University

Cristina Urdaneta Thomas, 3M

Michelle Tran-Dubé, Pfizer

Andrea Twiss-Brooks, University of Chicago

Javier Vela, Iowa State University

Stanislaus S. Wong, Stony Brook University

Wallace H. Yokoyama, U.S. Department of Agriculture

Liangli (Lucy) Yu, University of Maryland, College Park

ACS encourages journalists to apply for press credentials for ACS Fall 2021 by contacting

To automatically receive press releases from the American Chemical Society, contact

Note: ACS does not conduct research, but publishes and publicizes peer-reviewed scientific studies.

Media Contact

ACS Newsroom