American Chemical Society names ACS Fellows for 2022

WASHINGTON, Aug. 22, 2022 — The American Chemical Society (ACS) named 45 members to the 2022 class of ACS Fellows. The official list of names appears in the Aug. 8 issue of Chemical & Engineering News, an independent news outlet of ACS.

The new ACS Fellows will be honored at a ceremony during ACS Fall 2022 in Chicago. The ceremony will take place at the Sheraton Grand Chicago, Chicago Ballroom VI/VII, on Aug. 22 at 2 p.m. CT (3 p.m. ET), and a reception will take place immediately following the ceremony.

Created by the ACS Board of Directors in December 2008, the Fellow of the American Chemical Society designation is awarded to members who have made exceptional contributions to the science, and profession and have provided excellent volunteer service to the ACS community. The nomination period for the 2023 class of ACS Fellows will open in the first quarter of next year. More information is available at

The 2022 ACS Fellows and their institutions are listed below.

Diana S. Aga
University at Buffalo

Kimberly A. Agnew-Heard
Altria Client Services

Kaoru Aou

Kevin L. Armbrust
Louisiana State University

James Bohling

Olga Boltalina
Colorado State University

Julia Brumaghim
Clemson University

Raychelle Burks
American University

Michelle R. Cummings

Peter B. Dervan
California Institute of Technology

Catherine A. Faler

Liang-Shih Fan
Ohio State University

Allan S. Felsot
Washington State University

Annaliese K. Franz
University of California, Davis

Brian D. Guthrie

Paula T. Hammond
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

David J. Heldebrant
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Alison G. Hyslop
St. John’s University

Jeffrey N. Johnston
Vanderbilt University

Spencer Knapp
Rutgers University

Stefan G. Koenig

Christy F. Landes
Rice University

Barry K. Lavine
Oklahoma State University

Milton I. Levenberg
Abbott Laboratories (Retired)

Zhiqun Lin
National University of Singapore

Jingbo Louise Liu
Texas A&M University–Kingsville

Muthiah (Mano) Manoharan
Alnylam Pharmaceuticals

Brian M. Mathes

Marge Matthews
Clarivate (Retired)

Nicholas A. Meanwell
Bristol Myers Squibb

Bhimanagouda S. Patil
Texas A&M University

James Postma
California State University, Chico

W. Matthew Reichert
University of South Alabama

Megan L. Robertson
University of Houston

Paul R. Robinson

Jenifer C. Shafer
Colorado School of Mines and Advanced Research Projects Agency–Energy

Joan-Emma Shea
University of California, Santa Barbara

Steven Silverman
Merck & Co.

Nicole L. Snyder
Davidson College

Mark M. Turnbull
Clark University

Wei Wang

Don L. Warner
Boise State University

Leyte Winfield
Spelman College

Kimberly A. Woznack
Pennsylvania Western University, California

Shu Yang
University of Pennsylvania

ACS Fall 2022 will be a vaccination-required and mask-recommended event for all attendees, exhibitors, vendors and ACS staff who plan to participate in-person in Chicago. For detailed information about the requirement and all ACS safety measures, please visit the ACS website

To automatically receive press releases from the American Chemical Society, contact

Note: ACS does not conduct research, but publishes and publicizes peer-reviewed scientific studies.

Media Contact

ACS Newsroom