ACS Heroes of Chemistry

What is the Heroes of Chemistry Award?

Who are our heroes today? The media recognizes athletes and entertainers, as well as policemen and firefighters, as heroes. Chemistry has its heroes too; they are scientists and engineers who have made the world better through their effort, ingenuity, creativity and perseverance.  The life-saving treatments and conveniences of the modern world would not be possible without the materials, drugs, and other products of chemistry.

Heroes of Chemistry is an annual award sponsored by the American Chemical Society that recognizes talented industrial chemical scientists whose work has led to the development of successful commercialized products ingrained with chemistry for the benefit of humankind.

2017 Heroes of Chemistry Recipients

Youtube ID: dUoRI79AN0Y

ACS Heroes of Chemistry 2017 Introduction

Youtube ID: u7uyjaEcl2w

Bristol-Myers Squibb

The American Chemical Society honors scientists from Bristol-Myers Squibb for the contributions to the discovery of the combination of the pioneering hepatitis C virus (HCV) NS5A inhibitor, Daklinza® (daclatasvir), and the acylsulfonamide-containing HCV NS3 protease inhibitor, Sunvepra TM (asunaprevir), which together demonstrated for the first time that HCV infection could be cured with only direct-acting antiviral agents.

Awardees: Makonen Belema, Min Gao, Andrew Good, Lawrence Hamann, Fiona McPhee, Nicholas Meanwell, Van Nguyen, Paul Scola, Lawrence Snyder, Li-Qiang Sun, Alan Xiangdong Wang.

Youtube ID: aBDK8ejlliA

Corning Incorporated

The American Chemical Society honors scientists from Corning Incorporated for inventing a technology which would enable Corning’s ClearCurve® bend-insensitive optical fibers.

Awardees: Dana Bookbinder, Ming-Jun Li, Pushkar Tandon.

Youtube ID: _QErT2G0YIk

The Dow Chemical Company

The American Chemical Society honors The Dow Chemical Company for the development of pre-composite polymers that enable greener and higher performing architectural house paints.

Awardees: Linda Adamson, James Bardman, Kebedeh Beshah, Marie Bleuzen, James Bohling, Ward Brown, Stan Brownell, Michael Clark, Jr., Beth Cooper, Steven Edwards, David Fasano, Catherine Finegan, John Hook, Melinda Keefe, Al Maurice, Ozzie Moore Pressley, William Rohrbach, and Wei Zhang.

Youtube ID: RdzvdZa_mJc

DuPont Crop Protection

The American Chemical Society honors scientists from DuPont Crop Protection for the discovery of DuPont™ Zorvec ®, the first member of a novel class of fungicides to control diseases caused by oomycete pathogens.      

Awardees: John Andreassi, Mary Ann Hanagan, Lisa Hoffman, Robert Pasteris, and Jim Sweigard.

Youtube ID: d9JMWGwDag0


The American Chemical Society honors scientists from Genentech for the discovery and development of ERIVEDGE® (vismodegib), the first medicine to be approved for the treatment of metastatic or locally advanced basal cell carcinoma.

Awardees: Remy Angelaud, Georgette Castanedo, Janet Gunzner-Toste, Michael Koehler, James Marsters, Kirk Robarge, Scott Savage, Dan Sutherlin, Vickie Tsui, and Shumei Wang.

Youtube ID: inG4GfTuEJI


The American Chemical Society honors scientists from Merck for the invention of ZEPATIER®, a once-daily, fixed-dose combination tablet containing the NS5A inhibitor elbasvir and the NS3/4a protease inhibitor grazoprevir for the treatment of chronic Hepatitis C Virus infection.

Awardees: Craig Coburn, Steven Harper, Daria Hazuda, Katharine Holloway, Bin Hu, Nigel Liverton, John McCauley, Craig McKelvey, Mark McLaughlin, Peter Meinke, Michael Rudd, Vincenzo Summa, Feng Xu, Bin Zhong, Ping Zhuang.

Heroes of Chemistry

American Chemical Society
Phone: (202) 872-6326

For more information on the application process, please visit the Nomination Procedures page or email