ACS National Award Recipients

2021 Priestley Medalist

image of A. Paul Alivisatos

A. Paul Alivisatos, the University of California, Berkeley, scientist is the Samsung Distinguished Professor of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology and a professor of chemistry and materials science and engineering, as well as the university’s executive vice chancellor and provost. He is also director emeritus of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and the founding editor in chief of Nano Letters, published by the American Chemical Society. Alivisatos received the 2021 Priestley Medal, the American Chemical Society’s highest honor.
View C&EN article

2020 Priestley Medalist

JoAnne Stubbe

JoAnne Stubbe, the Novartis Professor of Chemistry and Biology, emerita, at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. View C&EN article

2019 Priestley Medalist

K. Barry Sharpless

K. Barry Sharpless, a Scripps Research Institute California chemist who won the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2001 for his work on chirally catalyzed oxidation reactions. Sharpless received the Priestley Medal in 2019 in recognition of his “invention of catalytic, asymmetric oxidation methods, the concept of ‘click’ chemistry, and development of the copper-catalyzed version of the azide-acetylene cycloaddition reaction.” View C&EN article