ACS National Awards

The ACS National Awards: Advancing Chemistry, Supporting Research, and Promoting Chemists


The ACS National Awards program is designed to encourage the advancement of chemistry in all its branches, to support research in chemical science and industry, and to promote the careers of chemists.

National Awards and Virtual Ceremony

ACS 2020 National Award Recipients and Recognition Virtual Ceremony

The first virtual National Awards Ceremony to honor the 2020 ACS National Award recipients was held on Friday, April 9, 2021! View ceremony here.

The 84th Awards Ceremony recognized 75 recipients of 59 national awards and sponsor representatives. The 2020 Priestley Medalist, Dr. JoAnne Stubbe, Professor Emerita, MIT, delivered the keynote presentation “The Road Less Traveled: for Love of Detection, Discovery and all things Radical in Nature.” 

2021 Priestley Medalist

image of A. Paul Alivisatos

A. Paul Alivisatos, the University of California, Berkeley, scientist is the Samsung Distinguished Professor of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology and a professor of chemistry and materials science and engineering, as well as the university’s executive vice chancellor and provost. He is also director emeritus of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and the founding editor in chief of Nano Letters, published by the American Chemical Society. Alivisatos will receive the 2021 Priestley Medal, the American Chemical Society’s highest honor. View C&EN article.

Nomination Information

The nomination period for the 2022 ACS National Awards closed on November 1, 2020. Thank you to all who participated in the nomination process this year. The winners will be announced in August 2021.

We will begin accepting nominations for the 2023 ACS National Awards in July 2021.

ACS National Awards Program Contact

American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20036
Phone: (800)227-5558, ext. 4575


Prized Science
This video series features the work and contributions of recipients who won ACS prizes. Watch, listen, and discover how the chemistry behind ACS’ awards transforms our lives.

Becoming Award Ready Webinar
How do deserving and accomplished chemical scientists from diverse backgrounds become ACS award nominees and potentially winners? This short presentation shares the key aspects of preparing for and creating a successful nomination package for an ACS National Award.

National Awards Office Division Primer
This booklet provides technical divisions with quick access to answers to questions regarding the ACS National Awards Program’s selection and canvassing committee process and the awards banquet and ceremony, as well as how to nominate deserving individuals for national awards.