ACS is committed to helping combat the global COVID-19 pandemic with initiatives and free resources. Learn More

ACS Award for Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry

Purpose: To recognize and encourage creative work in synthetic organic chemistry.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $1,000 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: A nominee must have accomplished outstanding creative work in synthetic organic chemistry that has been published. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & SupportMilliporeSigma (formerly Aldrich Chemical Company, LLC), assumed sponsorship of the award in 1976. The Synthetic Organic Chemical Manufacturers Association established the award in 1955. No award was given in 1977.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th St., NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: (202) 872-4575
Fax: (202) 776-8008


2021: Jonathan A. Ellman

2020: Michael J. Krische

2019: M. Christina White

2018: Brian M. Stoltz

2017: Matthew S. Sigman

2016: Scott J. Miller

2015: F. Dean Toste

2014: Amir H. Hoveyda

2013: Erick M. Carreira

2012: Gregory C. Fu

2011: David W. C. MacMillan

2010: Ei-ichi Negishi

2009: Hisashi Yamamoto

2008: Masakatsu Shibasaki

2007: Steven V. Ley

2006: Stephen L. Buchwald

2005: Chi-Huey Wong

2004: Tohru Fukuyama

2003: Scott E. Denmark

2002: Andrew G. Myers

2001: Eric N. Jacobsen

2000: Dennis P. Curran

1999: Dale L. Boger

1998: Paul A. Wender

1997: Amos B. Smith, III

1996: Teruaki Mukaiyama

1995: Larry E. Overman

1994: Stuart L. Schreiber

1993: K. C. Nicolaou

1992: Dieter Seebach

1991: Paul A. Grieco

1990: Clayton H. Heathcock

1989: Sir Derek H. R. Barton

1988: Robert E. Ireland

1987: Harry Wasserman

1986: Samuel J. Danishefsky

1985: Albert I. Meyers

1984: Leo A. Paquette

1983: K. Barry Sharpless

1982: David A. Evans

1981: Barry M. Trost

1980: Yoshito Kishi

1979: George A. Olah

1978: Satoru Masamune

1976: Franz Sondheimer

1975: Herbert O. House

1974: Edward C. Taylor

1973: George H. Buchi

1972: Bruce Merrifield

1971: Elias J. Corey

1970: Eugene E. van Tamelen

1969: H. Gobind Khorana

1968: Theodore L. Cairns

1967: Gilbert J. Stork

1966: William von E. Doering

1965: Donald J. Cram

1964: Lewis H. Sarett

1963: Nelson J. Leonard

1962: Charles R. Hauser

1961: Melvin S. Newman

1960: Herbert C. Brown

1959: John C. Sheehan

1958: William S. Johnson

1957: Robert B. Woodward

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Maria-Christina White (center) is presented her award by sponsor representative, Klaus Griesar (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS