ACS Award for Research at an Undergraduate Institution

Purpose: To recognize the importance of research with undergraduates. The award will honor a chemistry faculty member whose research in an undergraduate setting has achieved wide recognition and contributed significantly to chemistry and to the professional development of undergraduate students.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed. Research Corp. will also provide a grant of $5,000 directly to the recipient's institution.

Eligibility: The nominee's department may offer work leading to the master's degree but cannot have a doctoral program. This award recognizes fundamental research that constitutes advances in science as evidenced by refereed publications with undergraduate coauthors in leading scientific research journals, external research grant support, and the subsequent professional development of students who have participated in the research program. The award will be given for significant work over a long period of time rather than for a specific, limited project. A nominee must be a tenured faculty member of a predominantly undergraduate institution. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: Research Corporation for Science Advancement, a private foundation for the advancement of science, established the award in 1984.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021   Daniel Rabinovich

2020   Kerry K. Karukstis                  

2019   Carol A. Parish

2018    Joseph J. Pesek

2017    Maria Hepel

2016    Thomas E. Goodwin

2015    George C. Shields

2014    Bert E. Holmes

2013    Nancy S. Mills

2012    David K. Lewis

2011    Gregory J. Grant

2010    Thomas J. Wenzel

2009    Moses Lee

2008    John T. Gupton

2007    Cheryl D. Stevenson

2006    Charles F. Beam

2005    Phoebe K. Dea

2004    Keith H. Pannell

2003    Ronald L. Christensen

2002    Thomas C. Werner

2001    Robert F. Pasternack

2000    George B. Kauffman

1999    James N. Spencer

1998    Rabindra N. Roy

1997    Gary C. DeFotis

1996    Norman C. Craig

1995    Joseph Sherma

1994    Claude H. Yoder

1993    Maria C. Linder

1992    Mitsuru Kubota

1991    Philip C. Myhre

1990    Thomas P. Onak

1989    Lon B. Knight, Jr.

1988    Michael P. Doyle

1987    Harold W. Heine

1986    Corwin H. Hansch

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Carol A. Parish (center) is presented her award by sponsor representative Andrew Feig (right) and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS