ACS Award in Applied Polymer Science

Purpose: To recognize and encourage outstanding achievements in the science or technology of plastics, coatings, polymer composites, adhesives, and related fields.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: This award recognizes and encourages the achievements of scientists who are active in the fields of polymer and polymer materials research. The recipient will be selected primarily on the basis of scientific contributions made to the technology of plastics, coatings, polymer composites, adhesives, and related fields during the 10-year period preceding the date of selection. Preference will be given to avoid repeating specific areas of technology whenever recognized by the granting of this award in the two preceding years. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: Eastman Chemical Company began sponsoring the award in 2004. The ACS sponsored the award in 2000 and 2003. The ACS Division of Polymeric Materials: Science and Engineering and the ACS Corporation Associates sponsored the 2001 and 2002 presentations. The Phillips Petroleum Co. sponsored the award from 1981 to 1999. A prior ACS Award in the Chemistry of Plastics and Coatings sponsored by the Borden Foundation, Inc. was established in 1966. No award was given in 1982.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2021: Dirk J. Broer

2020: Joachim Kohn

2019: Shanti Swarup

2018: Paula T. Hammond

2017: Zhenan Bao

2016: Thomas P. Russell

2015: Geoffrey W. Coates

2014: Nicholas A. Peppas

2013: Mitchell A. Winnik

2012: John R. Reynolds

2011: Krzysztof Matyjaszewski

2010: Andrew J. Lovinger

2009: Benny D. Freeman

2008: P. Anne Hiltner

2007: Harry R. Allcock

2006: Christopher K. Ober

2005: Craig J. Hawker

2004: C. Grant Willson

2003: Lloyd M. Robeson

2002: James E. McGrath

2001: Daniel J. Brunelle

2000: Lewis J. Fetters

1999: Elsa Reichmanis

1998: Alan D. English

1997: Jack L. Koenig

1996: Jean M. J. FrÉchet

1995: Joseph P. Kennedy

1994: James E. Mark

1993: Owen W. Webster

1992: Robert S. Langer

1991: E. J. Vandenberg

1990: Otto Vogl

1989: Leo Mandelkern

1988: David S. Breslow

1987: O. A. Battista

1986: William J. Bailey

1985: James Economy

Back to List of Awards

2011 Krzysztof Matyjaszewski

2010 Andrew J. Lovinger

2009 Benny D. Freeman

2008 P. Anne Hiltner

2007 Harry R. Allcock

2006 Christopher K. Ober

2005 Craig J. Hawker

2004 C. Grant Willson

2003 Lloyd M. Robeson

2002 James E. McGrath

2001 Daniel J. Brunelle

2000 Lewis J. Fetters

1999 Elsa Reichmanis

1998 Alan D. English

1997 Jack L. Koenig

1996 Jean M. J. FrÉchet

1995 Joseph P. Kennedy

1994 James E. Mark

1993 Owen W. Webster

1992 Robert S. Langer

1991 E. J. Vandenberg

1990 Otto Vogl

1989 Leo Mandelkern

1988 David S. Breslow

1987 O. A. Battista

1986 William J. Bailey

1985 James Economy

1984 Donald R. Paul

1983 Frank A. Bovey

1981 Eric Baer

1980 John W. Vanderhoff

1979 Roger S. Porter

1978 John K. Gillham

1977 William A. Zisman

1976 Herman F. Mark

1975 Maurice L. Higgins

1974 Vivian T. Stannett

1973 Carl S. Marvel

1972 Richard S. Stein

1971 Raymond R. Myers

1970 Raymond F. Boyer

1969 Sylvan O. Greenlee

1968 Harry Burrell

2019 recipient Shanti Swarup (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative, Dawn C. Mason (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS