ACS Award in Industrial Chemistry

Sponsor: The ACS Division of Industrial and Engineering Chemistry

Purpose: To recognize outstanding contributions to chemical research in the industrial context. Significant creative contribution to chemistry in any field of chemical, chemical engineering, pharmaceutical, or biochemical research is appropriate.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $2,500 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed. The ACS Division of Industrial and Engineering Chemistry (I&EC) will be the primary sponsor in 2012 and 2014 and the ACS Division of Business Development and Management (BMGT) will be the primary sponsor in 2013. The division that is not the primary sponsor will be a co-sponsor.

Eligibility: Any chemical researcher whose primary employer was industrial when the work was done and who was based in North America is eligible. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: The ACS Division of Industrial & Engineering Chemistry (I&EC) began sponsoring this award in 2016. The ACS Division of Business Development and Management (BMGT) and the I&EC cosponsored the award from 2012-2015. BMGT and the ACS cosponsored the award in 2011. BMGT began sponsoring the award in 2003 and began a partnership with the Society of Chemical Manufactures and Affiliates, Inc. (SOCMA) in 2007 to 2010 to co-sponsor the award. The ACS financed the award in 2001 and 2002. Akzo Chemicals, Inc. established the award in 1989 and sponsored it until 2000.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: (202) 872-4575
Fax: (202) 776-8008


2021: David S. Hays

2020: Mahfuza B. Ali

2019: Guy R. Humphrey

2018: George P. Lahm

2017: Jane Frommer

2016: Ted C. Germroth

2015: Thomas J. Colacot

2014: David L. Hughes

2013: Anne M. Gaffney

2012: Thomas F. Degnan, Jr.

2011: John A. Lowe, III

2010: James A. Cella

2009: George G.I. Moore

2008: Timothy J. Wallington

2007: Margaret M. Wu

2006: James C. Stevens

2005: Edwin A. Chandross

2004: Joseph C. Salamone

2003: Bruce E. Maryanoff

2002: Bipin V. Vora

2001: Paul S. Anderson

2000: Guido Sartori

1999: Madan M. Bhasin

1998: William C. Drinkard, Jr.

1997: Robert M. Sydansk

1996: Gordon W. Calundann

1995: Lynn H. Slaugh

1994: Marion D. Francis

1993: Larry F. Thompson

1992: David R. Bryant

1991: James F. Roth

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Guy R. Humphrey (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative, Glenn A. Fugate (second to right), Leigh Martin (right) and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS