ACS Award in Organometallic Chemistry

Purpose: To recognize a recent advancement that is having a major impact on research in organometallic chemistry.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $1,000 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: A nominee must have shown outstanding research in the preparation, reactions, properties, or structure of organometallic substances. Special consideration will be given to demonstrated creativity and independence of thought. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background. Preference will be given to U.S. citizens.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: The Dow Chemical Company Foundation established the award in 1983.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036-4801
Phone: 202-872-4575
Fax: 202-776-8008


2017 Marcetta Y. Darensbourg

2016 Karen I. Goldberg

2015 William J. Evans

2014 Kenneth G. Caulton

2013 Gregory L. Hillhouse

2012 Philip P. Power

2011 Peter T. Wolczanski

2010 Clark Landis

2009 Odile Eisenstein

2008 Gerard F.R. Parkin

2007 David Milstein

2006 John F. Hartwig

2005 Jack R. Norton

2004 Wolfgang A. Herrmann

2003 William D. Jones

2002 T. Don Tilley

2001 F. Albert Cotton

2000 Stephen L. Buchwald

1999 Hans H. Brintzinger

1998 Ei-ichi Negishi

1997 Malcolm L. H. Green

1996 Dietmar Seyferth

1995 Jack Halpern

1994 John A. Gladysz

1993 Robert H. Crabtree

1992 Maurice S. Brookhart

1991 Charles P. Casey

1990 John E. Bercaw

1989 Tobin J. Marks

1988 Robert H. Grubbs

1987 K. Peter C. Vollhardt

1986 Robert G. Bergman

1985 Richard R. Schrock

2016 recipient Karen I. Goldberg (center) is presented her award by sponsor representatives Jerzy Klosin (right) and Donna J. Nelson, ACS President (left).