ACS Award in Polymer Chemistry

Purpose: This award recognizes outstanding fundamental contributions and achievements in the field of polymer chemistry.

Nature: The award consists of $5,000 and a certificate. Up to $1,000 for travel expenses to the meeting at which the award will be presented will be reimbursed.

Eligibility: The nominees for this award are expected to have demonstrated pioneering research accomplishments in synthetic methods of unique polymeric materials and/or achieved profound discoveries in polymer physical chemistry leading to recognized advancements in our understanding of complex macromolecular behavior. This award is specifically intended to acknowledge the impact in basic science of a researcher’s body of work in the broad field of polymer chemistry on our global needs for advanced polymeric systems and materials. The award will be granted regardless of race, gender, age, religion, ethnicity, nationality, sexual orientation, gender expression, gender identity, presence of disabilities, and educational background.

Deadline: November 1 (annual review).

Establishment & Support: ExxonMobil Chemical Company assumed sponsorship of the award in 1981. Witco Chemical Corp. Foundation established the award in 1962.

Contact Information

Awards Office
American Chemical Society
1155 16th Street NW
Washington, D.C. 20036-4801
Phone: (202) 872-4575
Fax: (202) 776-8008


2021: Ken B. Wagener

2020: Jeffrey S. Moore

2019: Timothy M. Swager

2018: Carlton G. Willson

2017: Murugappan Muthukumar

2016: Edmund M. Carnahan

2015: Nikos Hadjichristidis

2014: Karen L. Wooley

2013: Craig J. Hawker

2012: Edwin L. (Ned) Thomas

2011: Klaus MÜllen

2010: Timothy P. Lodge

2009: Takuzo Aida

2008: James E. McGrath

2007: Ludwik Leibler

2006: Egbert W. Meijer

2005: Samuel I. Stupp

2004: Virgil Percec

2003: Maurice S. Brookhart

2002: Krzysztof (Kris) Matyjaszewski

2001: David A. Tirrell

2000: Jean M. J. FrÉchet

1999: Robert S. Langer

1998: Gerhard Wegner

1997: William J. MacKnight

1996: Henry K. Hall, Jr.

1995: Robert H. Grubbs

1994: Helmut Ringsdorf

1993: Takeo Saegusa

1992: Robert W. Lenz

1991: Marshall Fixman

1990: Harold A. Scheraga

1989: William R. Krigbaum

1988: Pierre deGennes

1987: Vivian T. Stannett

1986: Herbert Morawetz

1985: Joseph P. Kennedy

1984: Harry R. Allcock

1983: Richard S. Stein

1982: John K. Stille

1981: E. J. Vandenberg

1980: George B. Butler

1979: Henri Benoit

1978: Junji Furukawa

1977: William J. Bailey

1976: Paul W. Morgan

1975: Leo Mandelkern

1974: John D. Ferry

1973: Turner Alfrey, Jr.

1972: Arthur V. Tobolsky

1971: Georges J. Smets

1970: Michael M. Szwarc

1969: Frank A. Bovey

1968: Charles G. Overberger

1967: Frank R. Mayo

1966: Walter H. Stockmayer

1965: Herman F. Mark

1964: Carl S. Marvel

Back to List of Awards

2019 recipient Timothy M. Swager (center) is presented his award by sponsor representative, Jay Dias (right), and Bonnie A. Charpentier, ACS President (left).
Photo by Loris Guzzetta/ACS